Central Lima


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Lima
October 29th 2008
Published: October 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I explored Miraflores and then central Lima. Miraflores was a quick walk, I found the park nearby and walked through some of the stores. The streets are very noisy, both here and in Central Lima, as taxi drivers make up the majority of the drivers and are often honking to find fare or get people in front of them moving. Boston has nothing on Lima with regard to driving... In Central Lima I visted Plaza de Armas and Plaza San Martin. The vendors are quite persistent - a tatoo artist in his early/mid 20s started walking with me and conversing. He sort of was a tour guide in this exchange. It was nice to get the practice Spanish, and I did so well that he got lunch and 6 soles.... he actually knew of vegetarian restaurants and was a nice guy, so it worked out well. I didn't get a tatoo though.

I then went to the church at the Plaza San Martin, as they have tour groups pass threw the 16th century building. Definitely the largest and most ornate church I've been in. I have pictures, but will upload them later.

I walked around a bit after this, finding a newly renovated park that has a view of a shanty town across the way. The shanty town was very colorful from afar (I did not go over), reminding me of the last 'Hulk' movie with scenes of brazil 😊 Above the shanty town, which was built on a mountainside, was a large cross. I could see the cross from the Plaze San Martin - hopefully the picture will come out ok.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

church2church2
church2

I wasn´t keeping track of the names of these churches.
inside churchinside church
inside church

where the priests conduct services, anyway...
part of Lima part of Lima
part of Lima

on side of hill.


29th October 2008

Hulk-a-mania!
This blog idea is awesome... It sounds incredible there!

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0831s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb