Remember, this is your country


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Lima
August 23rd 2008
Published: August 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola Everyone,

I am off to Chile tomorrow. I am really excited to go to Chile and have a fabulous time, but I am also really sad to leave Lima.
(side note- no blog yesterday because I was temporarily bed ridden after vomiting in the early morning and having to miss my placement. I also had to miss my goodbye dinner on the pacific ocean with all my friends. The good news is that I am feeling better today and that I was able to go to my placement. It only took 24 hours of sleep, 8 cups of coca tea,10 gatorade juice boxes, and some donut holes (timbits) from my friends....oh and lots of gravol).

Today at Mother Theresa's I had a really sweet goodbye. All the sisters and the laundry women showered me with gifts (andean hats, rosaries, chocolate, dolls, prayer cards, etc.). My favourite quote as they all kissed me was 'remember, this is your country'. Peru is quite possibly the most welcoming country I have ever known. Everyone here is so loving and friendly. What more could you expect from a culture that kisses strangers. Although a lot of the children at MT's couldn't have really understood that it was my last day, I felt like they knew. They were all dressed up today to go to mass for this specific Mother Theresa's 35th anniversary. This was a totally awesome experience that I will never forget. Even though everything was in spanish, my friends and I were still able to follow along. Also, because we were guests, we got VIP status in the front row. I don't think I will ever have this opportunity in my life ever again.

We spent the afternoon in a part of Lima called Barranco. It is kind of the up and coming area (lots of artists but not quite too expensive yet). We walked along the ocean front and visited lots of craft shops with beautiful things made by Peruvian designers. I bought myself my one present for the trip, a glass ring made by a woman here in Peru. It's beautiful.

Well, parting Peru is such sweet sorrow. Despite being sick, 2 weeks wasn't long enough and i would come back in a heart beat. Everyone at Mother Theresa's was asking when I would be back, and I told them I needed to go home, save some money and then I would be back. I hope I remember this in a few months, once these thoughts turn to memories.

Off to the country of wine I go with Tim O'Leary. I feel this will be the cherry on the cake of my travels.

Love always,

Nicole/Pokey
xo
ps. all the dogs around here are making me pup sick. Today i saw a big old blind and deaf lab, and i hugged him forever (he also reminded me of Clyde. Someone please hug and pet all the pups at the party tomorrow).
pps. All the best to Johnny and Gosha
ppps. Big hugs and kisses to E, Keel, and Char.

Advertisement



24th August 2008

my birthday
Pokey, I am glad to hear that you are feeling better and that you are off to see the friendly, wine loving, beer drinking giant (tim). HAve a wonderful time, and I can't wait for you to get home. I need some snuggles. The Freiburg party was great, although you were sadly missed. Love you times a zillion, Shell. p.s. mom says hi, because she cannot type still. p.p.s. don't forget that my birthday is coming up, maybe i deserve a nice glass ring from a peruvian lady... or maybe something non-alcoholic from chile. p.p.p.s. Lulu says woof. She misses you SOOOOOOO much, and she smells bad. She needs you to come home and brush her teeth. arough! :) xoxoxo

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb