first night in Istanbul...warning sleep deprived


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
May 17th 2009
Published: May 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

Just thought that I would post a quick note to let everyone know that I made it here okay. My flight was largely uneventful with lots of food on the plane. I had a special meal (it's always better and you get it first, which is a bonus). Istanbul is really cool. Not as traditional Muslim as I thought it would be. This has to be by far the most liberal part of the middle East. Five times a day there is the call to prayer, which is basically an annoucement that comes on from all the speakers everywhere for people to pray. I'm taking sleeping aids tonight so I can avoid be woken by the 4am one.

We went out for dinner with nessie's parents tonight. The food was really good. I had chicken shishkabobs and they are the best kabobs I have ever had. I definitely won't have any problems with the food in Turkey. So many vegetables and lots of egg plant. Everything looks delicious.

We walked around Istanbul a bit today, I saw the blue Mosque which is near our Hotel. Where we went for dinner, we were on the terrace and we had a perfect view of the the mosque. There are even birds that fly around the top, which makes it very authentic looking (I know it's the real thing anyways).

Alright, I am sleep deprived and tired (I think when I left was 24 hours ago or something like that) and am going to hit the sac. I am here until wednesday with Nessie's parents and wednesday night Nessie and I am going to start our little adventure.

Stay tuned for way way more,

Poke/Nicole
xoxo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb