Día 20


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lambayeque » Chiclayo
July 20th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My apologies to all of you who have anxiously been awaiting blog entries for the last four days- we have been in Cusco since Saturday and today (Monday) is the first opportunity I have had to get to the internet! Trust me when I say this is making me crazy!

So, not too much went on for day 20. We got to sleep in, which is always a good thing! Met at 10:45 in the lobby to head to a local market, Monsefú, to do a little shopping. Besides eating, shopping is right up there on activities of frequency! (Not that I am complaining...) Not in the least!

The market was just ok, pretty small, and smelled like urine. The only thing I ended up buying was a hammock, which I am really hoping to be able to set up on my back patio. Love those hammocks! Only 30 soles, which equates to less than 10 dollars. Not bad huh?

We ate lunch at Hebron, a restaurant back in Chiclayo. Shared Palta a Reina with Charles (that´s the chicken salad stuffed avocado) and also ordered fettuchine alfredo Not great this time, but since Natalie had stayed back at the hotel today, I brought her the leftovers. Wouldn´t you know that when I got back to the hotel, Natalie had saved me her leftover fettuchine from lunch at the hotel! Told you we were meant to be roommates!

Dinner was at the hotel, and since I wasn´t starving, the waiter was convinced that I didn´t like my cream of asparagus soup. Think he was a little offended, and that was probably why my fish cutlets came out dry and overcooked. =)

Back to the mall with Natalie for a little more shopping during our last night in Chiclayo. I got two great cotton sweaters (good for work) for 81 soles! That´s less than 30 dollars. I also wanted more pizza hut, so I ordered a personal pie. It took sooo long to come out that the woman behind the counter upgraded me to a medium and gave me two free sodas to make up for the wait. Met a nice girl from England who has been living in Perú for the last year and working in an orphanage in Chiclayo.

The rest of the night was uneventful- just packing up and watching tv. Had to be ready to leave for airport at 9am on Saturday.

Alyssa


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.047s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb