Chan Chan.


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » La Libertad » Trujillo » Chan Chan
February 7th 2006
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Chan Chan.Chan Chan.Chan Chan.

I am in the middle of something significant.
You know that song by the Buena Vista Social Club: Chan Chan.

Yeah, I like that song.

You know that ancient city by the Chimu People: Chan Chan.

Yeah, I like that ancient city.

I went to the ruins fifteen minutes from Trujillo. They were pretty impressive, I mean no pyramids or anything, but big walls. At one time sixty thousand people lived here.

I didn´t want to pay the six dollars for a tour guide, so I sort of lurked behind groups of English-speaking tourists.

I heard that when the ruler of the city died, hundreds of teenage girls killed themselves as they brought his body throughout his region. Crazy.

I ended up taking antibiotics for the mild case of dysentary I probably don´t have. I went to the farmacia, and asked for the pills... she gave me other ones that did a similar thing... I told my mom the name of the pills and she looked it up on the internet... they are the same pills they give to AIDS patients.

I think that South American pharmacies have only three different types of pills...

Here take this one it cures: stomach aches, cavities, and AIDS.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb