A Quick Win in Huancayo


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Junin » Huancayo
August 17th 2006
Published: August 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today, I had a chance to go up to the mountain, where Tinkuy Peru is working on a new project with the kids up there. Seeing them bought tears to my eyes. Many of them live in mud brick homes with no running water and electricity and some of them don’t have homes or parents. I saw one child who was wearing plastic bags on his feet in lieu of shoes. Tino said to me, “It broke my heart when I first saw it too, but I talked to the boy and he says it’s fine—he’s used to it.” No one should be used to running around without shoes when the weather closes in around freezing during this time of year! All of the children were absolutely gorgeous (as the photos attest), but it’s so sad that, in addition to lack of shoes, etc., many of them already suffer from severe sun damage and excruciatingly dry skin.

Despite my tears of sorrow, I had the opportunity to bring tears (of joy, thankfully) to these children’s eyes thanks to a few angels back home (you know who you are!). Thanks to a kind donation from these angels, I was able to buy new clothes and food for these kids. With less than $350, I was able to buy enough so every child received at least one piece of clothing (and, with the orphanage girls and the mountain kids, there were almost 80 kids in total!). Words cannot describe the joy on their faces when they received the new clothes. I honestly don’t think these children have ever owned anything new.

I know that what I did today won’t really make an overall difference in their lives, but little acts of kindness like this (as well as the work Tinkuy Peru is doing with them) will hopefully add up and make a difference. I’ve never seen children so eager to learn. Within a few days of the program’s commencement, the kids already know colors, fruits, and can sing “Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes” like it’s nobody’s business. Although I only spent one day on the mountain, it made more of an impression on me than some years of my life have.

It’s time for me to say goodbye to Huancayo and all of the beautiful people I’ve met here. Although I’m still not quite used to all of the hugs and kisses that accompany greetings, it’s so great to see and experience so much love despite the hardships many of these families experience on a daily basis. If I have time before I leave, I’ll post another quick blog with a few more humorous thoughts about my time here.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Mountain Kids 10Mountain Kids 10
Mountain Kids 10

Ida with one of the girls.
Mountain Kids 11Mountain Kids 11
Mountain Kids 11

Ida with one of the girls.
Girls' OrphanageGirls' Orphanage
Girls' Orphanage

Me with the girls.
Teaching EnglishTeaching English
Teaching English

This is my first class.
Teaching EnglishTeaching English
Teaching English

And this is my second


17th August 2006

Great pics!
Beautiful kids....and I'm happy to see you are at least making use of my good rain coat. I had thoughts of you during a (mostly) rainy folk fest! See you soon.
17th August 2006

That's sad. Good for you for doing something for them, C.
22nd August 2006

They are so cute
OMG- it breaks my heart just reading that.....

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb