The Tribulations of Travelling


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Junin » Huancayo
August 14th 2006
Published: August 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

There is no doubt that travelling is fantastic, despite its occasional downs (like unsanitary washroom, cold showers, etc.), but, sometimes, you would do anything to give up the excitement of travelling to be with your family and friends. Namely, when tragedy strikes at home...

One of my best friend's dad passed away unexpectantly on the weekend, and it truly shook me--shook me because I wasn't at home and able to console my friend in person; shook me because I and so many others my age take our parents' existence for granted and can't even fathom the thought that they might be taken away from us far too early; and shook me because I realized that I'm on the other side of the world isolated from my family and friends, and, despite my thoughts and hopes to the contrary, time (at home) does not stand still while I'm away.

Yes, the methods of communication have improved significantly over the past few years, which help in situations like this one, but it will still never replace the power of touch. And, although I tried my best to give virtual hugs and kisses, I can't wait to be able to do it in person in a few weeks. However, it's still amazing how instantaneous communication can be. For some reason, I decided to rent a cell phone when I arrived in Lima for my month here in case someone needed to get a hold of me, as 1/2 of my time here will be spent travelling around and staying at yet-to-be-named places. I didn't do this in Eastern Europe, however, so it was quite odd that I had this desire to ensure I was reachable. Despite this premonition, I did not, for a minute, guess that this was why I would need a phone. Picking up the phone on a Saturday morning and hearing a familiar (and sorrowful) voice on the other end, but not one belonging to your mom or dad, equates to instantaneous panic and (you're pretty sure) forthcoming heartbreak. Hugs are still comforting, regardless of whether they're from practical strangers (and I thank Tino's family and the "Swedish girls" for that), but it was a moment like that in which I regret being so far away from home.

I will hopefully write another entry before I leave Huancayo on Thursday to let you know what's happening in my life and what happens in a typical Peruvian's life, but, for now, I did not think it was fitting to ramble on about my adventures without acknowledging the sadness and sorrow I feel for my friend. There may be thousands of miles between us right now, but the distance has no impact on how full of sympathy my heart is for her and her family. I'm thinking of you! -xoxo-



Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 87; dbt: 0.0791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb