Machu Picchu


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
December 14th 2008
Published: December 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me at Machu PicchuMe at Machu PicchuMe at Machu Picchu

I´d arrived!!
So I made it back from Machu Picchu in one piece, hooray!!! Just sat in an internet cafe downloading the 200 photos! Dont worry, I wont bore you with them all...just a few to wet the appetite

What an amazing experience though. The scenery en route to machu picchu blew me away the most, such varied terrain and every turn had spectacular mountain views, I felt so high up in the world!. We went through forests and jungle like paths, saw my first hummingbirds and had butterflies following us along route...very idealic. The paths were steep both up and down, so although going up was tough, going down was slightly more hairy making sure you didnt catch yourself out on a loose rock!
On one particular day as the sun beat down, encircled around it was a rainbow coloured circle, something I had never seen before...if anyone else has please let me know! (see picture)

I now have buns of steel and sore legs, the trekking was tough! But I wouldnt have missed it for the world...just to be trekking up towards dead womans pass (the highest and toughest part of the trek, to reach 4200m high) panting out
13 girls and 1 man13 girls and 1 man13 girls and 1 man

Yes our group was the rare exception, nearly all girls!!
of breath, wondering if I would make it and if I could go any further, and then turning around to see how far I had come and realising how incredible a journey I had taken - that was something special!

I shall leave it there for now. I´m off to Lake Titicaca tomorrow so will write more soon. In the mean time, enjoy the views.

xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Porters...Porters...
Porters...

Otherwise known as Chaski´s - these guys were Amazing!!! carrying triple our load and overtaking us at every turn, muy muy fuerte!
First night campingFirst night camping
First night camping

Before it got Really tough! We spent the night playing cards...I learnt how to play Bullshit and Shithead!
Dead womans passDead womans pass
Dead womans pass

the walk up, if you can spot the little trail, thats where I had just come from!
Day 2Day 2
Day 2

Top of Dead Womans Pass!
Our ChaskisOur Chaskis
Our Chaskis

Just a few of them..we had 20 in total which included cook and cooks assistant. When I took this pic we were all introducing ourselves..a chance to use my basic spanish skills!
Uphill struggleUphill struggle
Uphill struggle

This was the killer hill!!
remote portalooremote portaloo
remote portaloo

can you spot it?! got to be the most remote and so far the most horrific toilet experience yet....
My new peruvian boyfriendMy new peruvian boyfriend
My new peruvian boyfriend

Dont you just love his hair
Pensive llamaPensive llama
Pensive llama

At Machu Picchu


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb