Settled In


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
October 6th 2006
Published: October 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have now been in Cusco for two weeks--- two weeks that have felt like one long day with loads of adventures. I feel as though I have completely settled into my travels as my spanish has improved x10, I have made some good friends with other travellers and peruvians alike, and I have come to know this city. My days have been full of good people and lots of laughter.

I spent the first week exploring ruins and the city. I went off to the mountains for a nice long walk on Saturday with some Swiss-German friends where I experienced every kind of weather, including thunder and lightening as I reached the highest point (tad frightening). It was a relatively quiet hike, since I speak absolutely no german. However, it was just what I needed to sink into the moment and BE here!

I went to another futbol game on Sunday with my host family- rad. My host family is so warm and welcoming. They are definite highlight of my time here in Peru. I have an older sister who has continually invited me out with her and introduced me to her friends. The futbol game was fun, violent, and exciting. After, my sister and I headed out to a fiesta with the players and danced the night away--- A grand time indeed!

I have postponed the next part of my language school in Bolivia so I can spend a month trekking, traveling, and just going with the flow of this experience. Two months of language school has completely helped my spanish and completely put me back into a mode of feeling as if I am still in Uni. So, to break it up a bit, I plan on traveling around Peru and into Bolivia before I head back to school 😊

Mucho amor,
Erin

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb