Up in the clouds


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
April 24th 2008
Published: April 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow, the mountains were calling and here I am surrounded by the most amazing back drop!! Hard to describe what it feels like to be here, its pretty overwhelming. My first week has been eventful to say the least. Ok so here goes in summary then I´ll start to write my adventures in greater detail as time goes by:

Family: They are just lovely, as soon as I arrived they really made me feel welcome and at home. Every meal is spent with them and gives me a good chance to learn my Español - its really helping me to become confident is speaking even tho sometimes its completely wrong. They dont speak any English which I love! The house has a modest 4 bedrooms and have to say there is no central heating system, which suprised me because its freezing here in the evenings! The family have a housekeeper who is Quechan and an amazing cook, everyday she cooks fresh soups, rice and encourages me to try all the Peruvian food which from what I have seen and tasted are Potato´s - I reckon I´ve tasted 5 varieties so far, only another 4,995 to go!! My bedroom is a
ooooh this is Cuscoooooh this is Cuscoooooh this is Cusco

This was taken on one of the many LONG treks I did, have to say it was an amazing view and a gorgeous day!!
good size, basic has a bed and I have my own bathroom too. The shower was a bit of a novelty when I first arrived, there is only one knob for hot and cold, it was covered with tape, so I was a little aprehensive to touch it. Needless to say my first experience I got electrocuted however, haved worked it out, one must turn it slightly for hot water and turn mucho for cold - its a case of balance and quick touches so you dont feel the elecrtic current going through your fingers...

The School: It took a few classes to get me into the swing of things, I´ve had 3 different teachers all with very different teaching techniques, fortunately, my third teacher is amazing, shes local and extreamly patient and really explains things so clearly - so i´ve requested her for my entire stay - the only downer she only teaches at 8am in the morning! Anyway, I´m really enjoying learning again, didnt realise how hungry I was for it and I´m disciplined I study every day for at least 6 hours and have the weekends off! The school itself is a nice place very close
Cusco Cusco Cusco

This is one angle of the town, basically there is a large square, just to the right of this picture is the Cathedral and to the left is the park - check out those clouds!
to the center and has 5 class rooms. Its quiet season so I get to have private lessons which is super cool!

Cusco: An interesting place, yes its catered for the tourists however, if you really look around on the outskirts you will see the real Cusco and its bustling and very cultural. There is plenty to see, beautiful churches, lots of places to eat, and good shopping and tons of tour operators. The taxi's are mainly tiny Daewoo cars and really cheap 2 solers for anywhere in the city (about 50cents). (more stories as I go on)

Ok Ciao for now......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.8kb