Mayhem at the Donkey Crossing...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco
April 26th 2008
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Donkeys..The Donkeys..The Donkeys..

They appeared from no where scared the living daylights out of me and Corre!
Since I am doing my Spanish classes 5 days a week I am left with an amazing 2 days to do what I want, and this is where I can explore Peru the best I can. So my plan is to do something every weekend. No weekend will be left unturned!

First on my list - TREK THROUGH THE MOUNTAINS ON HORSEBACK - it had been years since I went horse riding and it was definately on my priority list to find me a caballo. Being my first trip, using my very useful Guide book I shopped around for a good operator and before I knew it I was picked up by an el rancho Quechan and on my way to the country…in fact it was only 10 minutes out of town up a huge hill and there I was - you wouldn’t believe how different it is - green and no pollution and the fresh smell of horse or perhaps llama shit fertilizing the land! My trusty steed ‘Corre’ which means in espanol 'to RUN', er… was anything but that...not quite what I imagined Corre did not look too impressed when he saw me and was reluctant for me
blue skies and sunny weather...blue skies and sunny weather...blue skies and sunny weather...

Great view and great to be outdoors...
to climb onto his back his ears went right back which is usually a sign of not being happy, he loved to be last in the que and always at the back of a horse. For me not the best place to be as the horse in front of me had obviously been eating Fritoles (beans)..however, did get a trot out of him and a jump - I actually didn’t want to kick him in the stomach as really I wouldn’t want to be - so I gave him a free reign all through the ‘walk’. Also discovered he didn’t like Donkeys, freaked out when he saw three and almost bolted, this is where my past skills came into good practice! Have to say it was simply beautiful walking through the meadows and forests, saw the odd trekker and of course the mountains in the background, blue skies and just the peacefulness was serene. We had a few pit stops, where we could also trek to see some ruins.

Ruin 1: Puca Pucara - meaning ´Red Fort´
Used to have masses of Inkas in this area, has amazing views of the valley, more importantly the sacred valley and Cusco.
Mud HousesMud HousesMud Houses

Most of the houses in the outskirts of Cusco are made of this material. I believe the Inka tradition of using what the land provides is still practiced....
They say it was a hunting lodge back in the day for the Emperor or it could have also been a watch tower and the bigger ruin site is not too far away further uphill.

Ruin 2: Tambo Machay
15 mintues away from Puca Pucara, it was a much more impressive place to be, the stonework was still intact. This place had examples of Inca baths or Temple of the Waters, used for rituals and physical cleansing and purification. From the photo you can see there were three platforms. It says in my guide book - The top one held four niches that my have been used as seats, on the next level, underground water emerges directly from a hole at the base of the stonework and from there cascades down to the bottom platform, creating a cold shower just high enough for an Inca to stand under, on this platform the spring water splits into two channels, both pouring the last metre down to ground level.

Ruin 3: Q'enko - Inca huaca
Huaca is Quechán for labyrinth. This site was used as a sacrficial place, where llamas blood was poured into a bowl at the top of the main channel and if it flowed out through the left hand bifurcation this was a bad omen. If it flowed through the entire channel and poured onto the rocks at the bottom this was a good omen. The big stone in the middle may have been used for marriage rituals and apparantly in the summer soltice the shadows shape shift into animals. Underneath there are caves and portals which may have been used for meditation and channelling or even buriels. I felt really strong energy here.

Anyhoo, all of which have some pretty impressive stonework on display, gorgeous settings etc...my arse did hurt a little the next day jejejej....Am still pinching myself that I´m in Peru. Being here is a dream come true - its been on my list for a while...



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Hanging out with the local Hanging out with the local
Hanging out with the local

She was making wool out of Alpaca....


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb