Getting Andean High


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
September 10th 2007
Published: September 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ceviche!!!!ceviche!!!!ceviche!!!!

Yummay..this is my first dish here in Peru..it´s fish and red onion marinated with lime/lemon.... and there´s some other things in there (the photo) too of course
Howdy everyone!!

I made it into Cuzo in one piece...arrived this morning at 10, got settled, showered (my first HOT shower in days!) I will begin my volunteer work tomorrow, so I am pretty excited. So far I am getting by just fine with my portunhol (portuguese and spanish combined) and some English... it´s fun trying to talk to people here in Spanish...I just can´t stop doing it! I just took a Spanish placement test, I was told that I am in the intermediate level...yet I have to ask people to repeat themselves when I talk to them, I guess that I will just have to give it sometime to get used to the language

At any rate, here are some photos from Lima, Pisco and Ica

Later I will update more about Nazca and my 13 hour freezing bus ride from Nazca to Cusco

I am about to meet up with some friends (from Korea) that I met on that freezing busride to Cusco, and have dinner

See ya later


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

on the bus in Limaon the bus in Lima
on the bus in Lima

I love the liveliness of the streets of South America....though dangerous, there´s always plenty of movements, be it on the road, on the street, on the sidewalks.....
PizarroPizarro
Pizarro

Pizarron on my hand.....hehe
Ramon CastillaRamon Castilla
Ramon Castilla

Me standing in front of the statue the 4-time Peruvian president, the present who abolished slavery..so I guess he enjoys the same stature as Lincoln
Presidential PalacePresidential Palace
Presidential Palace

must be a pleasure to stay there
CatatombCatatomb
Catatomb

This is the catatomb under Saint Francisco church... I wasn´t really allowed to take any pictures, but I took this one anyway. The place was used as a burial centre during a plague that took place a long time ago???
Post-Earthquake PiscoPost-Earthquake Pisco
Post-Earthquake Pisco

almost the entire town was wiped out.... literally all the houses there are missing roofs and walls
Post-Earthquake PiscoPost-Earthquake Pisco
Post-Earthquake Pisco

Kids running after buses asking tourists/ anyone passing by for help
Post-Earthquake IcaPost-Earthquake Ica
Post-Earthquake Ica

This is Ica..a town about two hours away from Pisco...it's not as bad, but still it is heartbreaking to see
Post-Earthquake IcaPost-Earthquake Ica
Post-Earthquake Ica

The earthquake didn´t even spare a local small church


Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb