Enjoying the creature comforts in Cusco....


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
May 29th 2007
Published: May 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

PrettyPrettyPretty

Plaza de Armas
I really let the team down in Cusco. The city has a reputation as party central and I spent most of my time there laying low. I was in town for two days either side of the Inca Trail trek and for the two before it, I thought it sensible to wrap myself in cotton wool to ensure the best preparation possible. For the two after, I just wanted to take it easy and once again bask in the magnificence of innovations such as hot showers and flushing toilets with seats. What is it they say about not appreciating something until it's gone?

Parts of Cusco were very pretty, and the city certainly had its charms. All the same I must confess that I didn't really like the overall vibe of the place - it made me feel like a walking, talking cash register. I couldn't walk anywhere without some fast-talking shyster walking along beside me trying to sell me a tour, offer me a massage etc. At the start I was very courteous in declining their offers but the overt pushiness wore my patience thin. By the end I was just looking them in the eye, and butting
Reflecting on the trials of the TrailReflecting on the trials of the TrailReflecting on the trials of the Trail

Caroline, Jeff, Amanda, Andy and HJT
in mid sentence with a loud, pointed "NUH". I have already worn out the joke with cab stories by now, but suffice it to say that most of cab drivers in Cusco were straight up leeches.

All this aside, I don't think I could have enjoyed my stay in the city any more, as I stayed in probably the nicest place of my travels thus far. With my bones weary and my feet sore after 7 days of trekking, the big double bed, private bathroom, and (most of all) cable TV were just what the doctor ordered.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Gay pride in CuscoGay pride in Cusco
Gay pride in Cusco

The city's suspicious looking flag flying high


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb