Evening in Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
October 16th 2009
Published: October 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This morning we had free time. Some people went back to Machu Picchu, some went hiking and some went shopping. I slept in. I haven't gotten a full 8 hours on this trip and it's not making me happy. After breakfast, I went walking along the river across from our hotel and took a bunch of pictures of the pretty flowers there. The group met up for lunch, which was a cream of vegetable soup and stir fry chicken with potatoes and rice. The stir fry was good and I liked the sauce better than the Thai sauce of last night's dinner. Dessert was ice cream, vanilla, strawberry and a purple one....

I should clear up about the fashion show on the train. They were modeling Alpaca sweaters and shawls and then trying to sell them.

I also had my first tast of Inca Cola. It's not a cola taste, more of a cream soda, but it's a bit too sweet for me.

We took a different route from Ollantaytambo to Cusco, but we had the same trouble getting out of Ollantaytambo as we had getting in. Traffic jam in tiny streets is quite amusing. We had to back up the street and let about 20 cars and trucks and buses go by. And it turns out the Globus isn't going to be able to go to Ollantaybambo for a while, they are repaving the main square and the buses won't be able to get into town.

Along the drive to Cusco we stopped pretty high up in the mountain for a picture taking moment. Got some pretty views of the Sacred Valley.

As you know, I got to the hotel around five thirty and wandered around for a bit to find my room. This hotel takes up a whole block and is really confusing.

Left the hotel at seven thirty and back on the bus to go to the restaurant for dinner and a show. Dinner was okay, really good orangey chicken but not great anything else, and the show was fun. There were 5 sets of dancers including a flamenco like couple and then a quintet on traditional instruments. They did a couple of classical numbers (Beethoven and Mozart) and were good enough that I bought their CD.

Well, we have a 7 am wake up call, so I'm going to call it night. Tomorrow we have a morning tour around Cusco and then fly to Juliaca and off to Lake Titicaca.

Advertisement



16th October 2009

Sweet Dreams
Rest up tonight Mindy. Do they have the Westin "heavenly bed" in Peru? That's my favorite bed and hotel chain in the US. Overseas, however, I detest chains and prefer local establishments. Bon nuit R

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb