Cusco to Puno


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Puno » Lake Titicaca
October 16th 2009
Published: October 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from the shore of Lake Titicaca.

Up this morning at 7 am with a massive headache. My sinuses are completely blocked and my head was pounding. Had a quick breakfast and then we went right across the street to the monastery of Santo Domingo. It was actually kind of interesting, its built on top of an Incan temple complex, and there are a few nice stones and arches. After that we walked along the backstreets to the Plaza de Armas (main square) looking at some more Inca stonework. After that, I went back to the hotel and a bunch of us hung out in the lobby until we left for the airport at noon. I found out later that they had to bump passengers off the flight due to wind conditions and the need for extra fuel, and our tour guide spent half of his morning on the phone to the airline making sure that we were all on that flight. The flight was a bit bumpy, but honestly not as bad as I expected. Flight was short (only 45 minutes) so it was bearable.

Bus ride from Juliaca to Puno took a bit over an hour and went through mostly farm land and some mountain peaks. Our hotel is right on the lake and has its own private dock.

Theres a thunderstorm coming in over the lake and I want to watch it, so more tomorrow.

Advertisement



19th October 2009

Well well well...first off how's it going although it's obvious you haven't missed a single step yet...glad to hear all about your trip on a daily basis...gosh...I guess I won't have much to ask you upon your return huh??? Anyhew...want some Thai...? I'm ordering (smile). Well I tried writing you before on the train and I ended up losing my whole confounded message. Well, I hope you get this one, have a ball and keep that travelblog a coming!!! Gives me something to read on the trAin. Bye for now!!!!! Deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
20th October 2009

Thai food
Yeah, I'm in Thai food withdrawal. And it looks like American style food tonight, the other restaurants don't open until 7 pm. I don't know why, but the South Americans like eating late.

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb