The Architecture and Allergies of Arequipa


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa
October 15th 2012
Published: July 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -16.39, -71.53

Health is always potentially a concern when travelling. We have been really healthy on this trip besides some minor skin irritations, bites and normal aches and pains. However, during our first night in Arequipa at Casa de Sillar I had a mysterious allergy attack. I woke up at 3:30am from vivid dreams of cats to which I am deathly allergic. My sinuses were totally blocked and my face looked like I had been on the losing end of a boxing match with all the puffiness and swollen closed eyes but without the bruising. Problem was, I had no idea what I was allergic to - was it the strange pillow? Perhaps the bed or room had been sprayed with something? Maybe cats lived here when they had no hotel guests? Thankfully my lungs didn't engage in this event as normally with this type of a reaction, asthma would also kick in. I took some medications, got up and packed, had an ice cold shower to ensure I got any allergens off me and sat in an allergy-free wooden chair until it was late enough to get into another hotel.

At 6:00am we went down the street to La Casa de Melgar. This was the house of the bishop of Arequipa at the end of the 19th century. The vaulted ceilings, multiple courtyards, art and antiques are a perfect photographer's haven. So while I slept all day, Jim just hung around taking pictures. I guess in some ways we both had a day of healing. This place was one of the 4 best places we stayed at in all of Ecuador and Peru! It is a real gem.

Unfortunately, we were in Arequipa for only 2 days so missed seeing a lot of the beautiful sites in the city. We wandered around the city on day 2 taking in the convent, a church here and there and some alpaca wool shops. We caught an uneventful flight (which is the kind of flight one wants to have) to Lima. We are heading home for a couple of weeks and this begins that journey homeward.



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



27th October 2012

Jimmie, your photos continue to be fantastic!!! And, Donna, I love your wonderful narratives, too!!!
27th October 2012

amazing pics & wonderful voyage - ENJOY!
27th October 2012

Thanks for sharing the wonders of Peru and Ecuador with us. I will miss following you the next couple of weeks but will look forward to the next leg of your great adventures.
27th October 2012

Hi Jim and Donna,Gorgeous photographs....thanks,Barbara
28th October 2012

Some gorgeous pictures!! Makes me want to travel!
28th October 2012

Safe Travels Home, can't wait to here from you when you get home. Love Sue xoxo
28th October 2012

Just home from my own journeying - to Niagara to visit family. Chose the perfect week, full of Ontario colour, unseasonably warm and sunny and now they batten down the hatches for this newest hurricane, Sandy. Safe travels home. Have so
enjoyed your first "act"...truly beautiful.
28th October 2012

The curves and angles shots are particularly nice. You have a great eye for form!
28th October 2012

Beautiful shot - love the symmetry, texture and detail in this image.
28th October 2012

Great series of shots, Jim - plenty of 1/200 potential.
29th October 2012

Hope you enjoy your time at home. We are just settling in to our new home in Washougal WA. The 2300 mile trip with three cats and two dogs was interesting! My sister was along to help herd the livestock. I'm looking at so many boxes tha
t need to be unpacked. I'm determined to finish unpacking my boxes tonight so I can officially begin work tomorrow from my home office. Miss talking with you!
29th October 2012

Sorry to hear about the allergies - very scary!Fabulous photos! They will be wonderful memories - of the good kind!
29th October 2012

Fabulous! Fabulous! Fabulous! I am so glad you took your camera! Brilliant colours, contrasts, use of light....and Eric would love your various architecture shots!
29th October 2012

A visual feast! Thank you for another enjoyable trip standing at my kitchen counter.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb