Peru Trip


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Chivay
October 31st 2009
Published: November 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

October 31, 2009 - Sibayo, Peru

Still affected by altitude sickness, I took some Nurofen Plus at about 10:45pm last night to help me sleep - it did the trick!

I woke at about 5:30am to the not to distant sound of a voice over a loud speaker, presumably from the town square only 50 metres away. We later find out that the use of the town´s PA system is for news broadcasts and to advertise work where labour is required - this town is also rebuilding from an earthquake and most of the town is pretty ´new.

After eating some of my brakfast - rice, tomato, fried chips and steak - we are ready to farewell the family and thank them for their hospitality before once more going on the mini-bus for our next destination (rapidly becoming my least favourite part of the tour - why can´t someone invent a transporter thingy like in Star Trek?!).

Before we leave, they lay out some items that they would like us to consider buying and to be polite, I decide to buy at least one item - although, the offerings are slim indeed. That is until Paulino brings out newly woven sling shots which I am tempted to buy until he tells me the price - S./70 (about AU$27-30) - for a bit of wool knitted into a pretty pattern? Pass. I instead buy a pair of socks but not before Jessica and her grandmother argue over the price (Jessica wants to charge more but the Colya wins!).

Back on the bus, we begin the first part of an 8 hour journey back to Sumbay where we will change buses for another four hour journey to Puno.

Along the way, we stop to see some wall carvings, flamingos and other minor photo opportunites, used more to get us out of the bus and strecth our legs.

Heading out to dinner in Puno, the town is very busy with the annual celebration of Creole music and people dancing in the street as well as most of the town´s children dressed up for halloween. I am approached several times but before they ask, I say ´Ño gracias´as as soon as one is given something, those nearby also want something. I also didn´t have any lollies to give them, which I tried to tell one little girl who advised me that no, she didn´t want lollies, she wanted money; rattling off different currencies she was willing to accept!

Dinner was bland, even with the copious amount of chilli sauce I added to the fettucine dish but the attraction was a local band and dancers which were good to see but still not quite adjusted and suffering from mild headaches - and having been on a bus of the last 8 hours - I just wanted to shower and go to bed.

Luckily, grumpy Marty was sufficient to ensure we left promptly after we ate and Angry Marty was kept at bay!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb