quick update sans photos


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
July 13th 2006
Published: July 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Plaza de Armas - ArequipaPlaza de Armas - ArequipaPlaza de Armas - Arequipa

yeah. I don't know what that dressed up guy is either.
Hi all. sorry for the delay. weve been really busy taking spanish classes from 10 to 2 every day and then exploring in arequipa in the afternoons. we both like arequipa very much. it, for one thing, is so much cleaner - at least in terms of the air and the streets - than lima. also it is sunny!! thank god I thought I was going to go nuts in the constant rain and gloom of lima's winter! It's also much more laid back and, of course, smaller and easier to navigate.

The language course has been great. Four hours per day of talking in spanish wipes both of us out though. it's all one on one classes so you're constantly conversing. up to today most of it was review (though much needed review) of the classes I took at UCLA. however today it got harder all of a sudden and now I can't seem to think in either language. Masa has been picking up a lot as well which is good because he knew NOTHING until about April and has been picking up a ton since then.

I've taken a few pictures but for the most part we've been just walking around and looking at stuff. we haven't been to many museums here just the one with the 550 year old frozen body of the 12 year old girl that was sacrificed to the gods (volcanoes) by the incas. it was pretty cool, she's in amazing shape it is crazy. Look up the Museo de los Andes for photos. it's pretty unreal.

Weve also been making some friends through the school which is nice. we are taking cooking lessons today in about half an hour - hence the short update - and we are going to take a yoga (!) class tomorrow with another girl from the states and one from holland. um what else. oh yeah we are staying with a woman named charo who is really pretty awesome. we've got a little studio out in her backyard which is really nice. it's great to have some privacy and some space that feels a little more like ours for the week.

i've been talking to a lot of people (in spanish!!) including the teacher at the school and charo about politics here and it is so interesting. also it is refreshing to hear about the
Me and CarlosMe and CarlosMe and Carlos

one of my spanish instructors - he was cool.
different perspectives without having my own, you know? at home I get too worked up but here it is nice to just listen and learn about all the different people and groups playing pretty much the same damn games as at home.

Anyway hopefully next time I'll have a chance to show you Arequipa. Chris, if you don't like the pigeons in the lima photo, you're going to really hate the ones I have of the Arequpa Plaza de Armas. Pigeons are EVERYWHERE. It's gross. Millions of them. Everywhere.

Anywho I hope you are all doing well and having fun and all that. Stay safe and leave comments. they're fun.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Some fellow studentsSome fellow students
Some fellow students

On the left is Ashley and the other is from Holland, I forget her name.
The SchoolThe School
The School

It was great we got to sit outside and learn.


13th July 2006

yay!
sorry i haven't commented earlier, i have been reading all your entries with great interest, honestly. i am so jealous and can't wait to go on my trip. the bar is a bitch. keep having fun and posting! let us all live vicariously. i can't wait till you come back and we can talk wedding. it's a foreign language too, you know.
13th July 2006

what does "sans" mean?
Hey, I'm just a simple guy from Oklahoma and don't know fancy...spanish words like "sans". But I do throw heat. Did you see me strike out the side in the first inning of the all-star game? I know Vlad hit that homer off me in the 2nd, but I showed 'em all who the Dodger ace is. Glad to hear that you guys are still having a great time and learning some spanish and all that. Is Charo still doing the singing and acting thing? You'll have to ask her about her experience on the Surreal Life. I'll talk to you guys soon! Stay safe!
13th July 2006

David Escobedo
Today I had to remind Chris Corrao of who you were ...
14th July 2006

small al
Yay you guys are speaking spanish. You probably know more than me now. Maybe next time I'll write my comment in Espanol ( I don't have the little mustache to put on top of the "n.") Sounds like you guys are having fun, keep up the good traveling.
14th July 2006

almost there
Although we're not going to the same places you guys are, reading this is helping me to get my brain around the whole idea. Thing is, I'm not 'there' yet - I can't imagine or picture it very well, and I'm pretty much just in work mode (vouch for me people). I hope Mike and I are able to experience things as you are now by staying in one place and meeting people. Knowing the language helps Im sure....but I dont know that we'll be signing up for any Hindi or Japanese classes...hopefully Mike remembers some Mandarin. Here's what I want to know: what is a typical day like? Is there a 'typical' day? Do you miss having a schedule, or is la classe de Espanol enough for you right now? BTW we are throwing ourselves a going away party....want a couch?
14th July 2006

I miss you, Jennie! Too bad Matt Case isn't with you to provide a little extra enrichment to your Spanish classes. --- Oh hey, I got an apartment! So as of the first week of August or so, I'll be moving out and up. I'll let ya know my new address in an email so you can send me a POSTCARD <--- want
17th July 2006

Espanol!
Now that you're becoming fluent in Spanish again, we're expecting the next blog to be entirely in Spanish. Buena suerte! Que Ustedes pasanlo bien in Arequipa!
18th July 2006

I've been reading, too! Glad you're both having an excellent time and looking forward to your return so I can play you all the new music you're missing. You can love vicariously through my mp3s. ;)
19th July 2006

awesome blog
You guys probably forgot who I am already, but I really enjoy reading your blog, although it makes me wonder why anyone ever decides to take a desk job.

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb