La Plaza del Armas


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
May 9th 2006
Published: May 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

555

Aji de Gallina
**A quick note - I just accidentally published and then un-published a blog about the next four days, which we spent in Ilo. It isn't complete, and I still have to wade through the more then 300 photos we took while there, so it might we a while 'til the next post!**

Jeff taught his 2nd day of undergraduate course today. Interestingly, he had 8 more students today than he did yesterday, so word of mouth must have been good!

He was then invited to a meeting with the Rector (Provost) of UNSA. I’m starting to think he may really end up being famous here in Peru. Everyone seems to want a chunk of his time - which is really eating into our opportunities to get out and see the city. Elizabeth drew up a schedule for him and e-mailed it out so that the faculty members of UNSA and San Pablo can see that he is in fact busy and that we are scheduled to take some vacation while we are here. I’m planning on filling in even more of the blanks or we’re going to feel like we didn’t see even close to everything despite being here
999

La Compania
for a month.

When Jeff finally made it home today, he had missed the Aji de Gallina that we had for lunch - which has been his favorite so far. We all took a nap after lunch, and then when Pierce woke up we packed up and headed down to the Plaza del Armas to look around and take pictures. I find it odd the things that are expensive here. I’ve been watching for a Peru birding book. The first store we stopped at wanted s/350 for the birding book they had for sale. OUCH! (Needless to say, we didn’t purchase it, but we did find an alternate book at another store for a much more reasonable price!)

We saw some really neat art (pottery, paintings, jewelry, etc.) tonight. I figure I’ll leave the kids with Jeff and Elizabeth and I will take a shopping day! If any one has any request for Peruvian items that they want, let me know! (Pat - I did buy you a birding book also, and Aunt Gail, I did find a pretty cool Peruvian cookbook.)



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

1313
13

El Catedral and la Plaza del Armas a la noche.


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb