Arequipa the smoke city


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
March 31st 2006
Published: April 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

After another delayed flight from Lima I arrived in Arequipa, Saskia the owner of the Spanish girl was waiting for me and together we took a taxi to my new appartment, where I will be staying the next month. Quite a nice appertment, the two other unfortenately Dutch girls were not to arrive till saturday, So I was king for one day. But no water in the kitchen, no cooker and no fridge! So no nice cooking, no cold beers and no coca thea😞
The cooker and water are supposed to be installed tomorrow, but I don´t believe it actually.

So Saskia explained to me how to get into town with the bus, you have to say baja and then they stop. So got myself readdy hopped on a collectivo and went for the 20 minute ride into town, nice reggeaton in the van. This was my first actually real experience in Peru.
Hopped off, got a bit lost but finally found the plaza de Armas. First things first so went to some touristy bar with a nice view on the back of the cathedral and had some rivershrimp lasagna, quite disgusting actually. Also the asparagus soup, which are grown on the shores of lake Titicaca, came out of a package😞

Saskia had told me that on 20.30 my Spanish teacher would have a few drinks with two other Dutch girls in the Spanish bar, were the lessons are held as well. So found the bar and met Renzo my Teacher, nice guy, started to talk straight away in Spanish and had to answer him back in Spanish as well. He wasn´t very impressed I guess, but said that he had hope!

So I had a good few beers with Renzo and his sister, they drunk luckely, the two girls were on coca cola for the night. Tomorrow I am going out of town as the fumes were killing me.

Hasta Luego!



Advertisement



4th April 2006

St Petersburg
ola, Zo te lezen gaat het wel lekker. Wij net terug van St. Petersburg. Prachtige stad. Het centrum is goed te belopen, Hermitage, Zomerpaleis, etc. We hebben 1 dag in de Hermitage doorgebracht en dan nog niet alles kunnen zien. Er was een rembrand tentoonstelling met zo'n 100 pentekeningen die laten zien hoe hij tot een schilderij is gekomen. En dan natuurlijk ook nog een paar schilderijen van Rembrand. Het leuke is dat in dit winterpaleis er ook zalen zijn ingericht uit de tijd van Peter de Grote. Verder 1 dag een auto met chaffeur geregeld, 10 €/uur, om de Peterhof te bezoeken. Ook een schitterend paleis aan de Finse Golf. Eten is goedkoop, b.v. €6 voor een 4-gangen lunch, of voor een hoofdmaaltijd. Alleen een fles wijn is kostbaar, €10-30, maar totaal is een etentje niet duur en wel lekker. tussendoor pak je natuurlijk ook nog een paar Vodka's, Russian Standard. Groetjes K&A
6th April 2006

Rembrand
Ik weet natuurlijk wel, dat het RembrandT is!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb