Peru - Arequipa


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
January 31st 2010
Published: March 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My bus arrived in Arequipa at 6am on Sunday 31 January and I took a taxi to my hotel (Casa de Avila - Avenida San Martin 116). It was too early to check in so I spent an hour on the internet before having a fruit salad for breakfast. Then I listened to music in the lovely gardens of the hotel and the sun was burning me even at 8am. I eventually got to my room at 10am and I had a much needed shower and shave. Then I watched Man Utd beat Arsenal 3-1 before walking around town where I had a disgusting, overpriced lunch overlooking the main plaza. I returned to my room to watch Andy Murray lose to Roger Federer in the final of the Australian Open. On Monday I had pancakes and a fruit salad for breakfast and then I booked a couple of tours and also the next leg of my bus journey around Peru. I had crepes for lunch in a Turkish cafe and then at 2pm I went on a 4 hour open top bus tour of Arequipa. It was a typical city tour but it also went far out into the countryside and included visits to a water mill and an old house containing original furniture and paintings amongst other things. After the tour I went for dinner and then returned to my room to pack for my tour the following morning. On Tuesday I woke up at 3am and my van picked me up at 3.30am for my 3 day trekking tour of Colca Canyon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb