Peru Trip


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
October 28th 2009
Published: November 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

October 28, 2009 - Arequipa

I slept better than expected on the bus, calling seat #29 before we boarded which turned out to be the best seat on the bus with only the staircase from the lower level and a flat roof in front of us - perfect for stretching out my legs (like I need the room!!).

I opted to stay at the hotel for the morning to catch up on my writing and to rest a little as the last few days had been pretty non-stop.

This hotel is by far the best we´ve stayed so far; though lacking a pool, the colonial Spanish building is comfy, modern and being on a small street, away from the constant noise of traffic!

Following a shower where the shower head was so high, it over shot me and watered the wall and with the others off at the local market, I decide to venture out alone and find a laundry. Using the Lonely Planet book (thanks Stace), I find where to go and opt for a map from reception rather than the one in the book to appear less "touristy".

Walking through the main square, I do my best to walk assertively as though I know where to go, only glancing at the map every now and then. I found a laundry which will do my laundry for S./3 a kilo - about AU$1.20 per kilo. Sweet.

On my way back to the hotel, I stop off at a pharmacy to buy some deodorant and hair gel - for the nights out! Not knowing a great deal of Spanish requires me to utilise my sign language skills which must have worked because I got what I needed.

At around midday, as I´m writing this, Megan and Aine ask me to join them for a tour of the town. Feeling rested and ready, I head out into Arequipa. Again.

Just down from the plaza, Aine spots a ceremony of some sort so, curious about the local customs and festivities, we head down for a look.

We stop at the fence of a church where people are gathering and apparently waiting for something to emerge from the church doors. As we wait, we notice that nearly everyone is either dressed head to toe in purple or have a purple pattern or pendant on their clothing - we later find out that this is a very religious colour here.

Appluase erupts as a huge shrine of Jesus is suported by about 24 men on their shoulders. An air cannon goes off and purple and white streamers/confetti shoots out into the air - reminiscent of when the Melbourne Storm won their last NRL Grand Final.

With the crowd following the shrine down the street, we move upwards towards the main plaza once more where we then turn left towards the Santa Catalina Monastary.

We walk around inspecting the cells (as they are called) of the monastary which is actually like a little villag within the city of Arequipa. The small living quarters where the nuns lived had a small kitchen and bedromm/living area and also room for their servant/slave. Not like any nun I´ve heard of...

After a delicious lunch at a courtyard cafe situated within the monastary, we bump into Mike and Kath, just near the laundry well. The five of us continue the walk around "Nun Town" when we come upom a hughe kitchen, blackened from centuries of use and also, the location for my somewhat special occurrence (will need to wait for the photo....)

An hour or so after we began, we head out back into the streets of Arequipa and stop off for a coffee where, so close to paying the bill and leaving, we are accosted by a man, in a dress stuffed with balloons for breasts and a Beyonce style arse. He´s trying to sell us lollies (Mentos)but is quickly asked to leave by the cafe owner but not before Richard manages to take a photo of me with him (did I mention the love hearts painted on his cheeks?!)

The others tell me that they saw the same man at the markets earlier today - it was now 5ish - and they go on to tell me that they also saw a fruit juice stall that had a small tank of frogs situated on the counter and yep, the frogs are used for smoothies!!?¿?

Apparently, they´re good for your brain which, along with eating Llamas, has led me to create the following song;

"If you like eating some llamas,
and drinking frogs for your brain,
Then come to Arequipa,
where food is never mundane"

That´s all I have.

Travelling back to the hotel after retrieving my laundry - nothing missing - we noticed that the shrine we had seen earlier today was still being carried around, some 5 hours later!

We stop in front of a shop overlooking some street art we saw earlier which was to be used in some way for the approaching shrine. Watching the followers, I notice some were crying, others were barefoot indicating that this was an important ceremony in the Arequipan religious calendar.

Making our way through the crowd back to the hotel, we encounter another parade although this one is full of kids holding lanterns in the shapes of skeletons, space ships and what looks to be Miley Cyrus/Hannah Montanna. It was in celebration of a school opening apparently - it amazes me how late these social gatherings go, even on school nights and in every town we´ve been to thus far!

Dinner was on the rooftop of a building overlooking the main plaza and thanks to the open air set-up, we could take in the 360 degree view of the city whcih included fireworks following the conclusion of the religious ceremony.

I ate a very spicy and very tasty local dish - stuffed capsicum with beef and spices and a side dish that looked like a potato lasagne - but also managed to have a taste of Alpaca from Stepehn´s meal. It was bland and I have to say it, tasted a bit like chicken.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0897s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb