Arequipa to Puno


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
July 17th 2009
Published: July 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ola all,

I'm leaving Arequipa for Puno today and with the joys of cellphone and internet advancement, I'm making this entry whilst on the bus.

Arequipa was a beautiful city and the central plaza de armas were absolutely charming.

The cathedral and other churches around the main square are as elaborate on the outside as they are on the inside. However, I have to admit, I'm gettn all-churched-out!!

The beauty of the central plaza is enhanced even more because it sits at the bottom of a snow capped mountain. Its almost fairytale-like!

I spent most of my time at the Monestario Santa Catalina. This is a nunnery that dates back to the 1580's and the entire complex is like a city in itself.

It was set up for rich spanish families who would give one of their daughters to the nunnery but they found it hard to live a simple life and kept living it up, in secrecy!

The complex has its own lanes, churches, and orange orchards. Beautiful!

So now its off to Lake TITICACA, the worlds highest navigable lake.

I've been told to expect cold, freezing temperatures.....not nice!

Till then...caio!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb