Arequipa


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
May 19th 2008
Published: May 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So once the summit was over, I jumped on the first overnight bus to Arequipa, in the south of Peru. (Actually, it wasn't the first bus, it was a recommended agency - one without a history of stopping on the road to pick up people who are then not really picked up but instead empty the luggage compartments of its content....I still have all my luggage).
10 years ago, I spent a night in Arequipa, on my way from the Titicaca lake to Chile, and I remember that I hated it. But I also remember that I was awfully ill at that time and all I wanted was to move on home (which was Chile at that time). So I decided to give it another chance (who know, maybe I'll give Lima another chance in 10 years from now as well).
And Arequipa deserved the chance, it really is a lovely city in an amazing landscape. Since I am still sitting on the same computer as two blog entries ago, I still can't upload photos, but I will! Arequipa and the countryside around it is described with the words "When the moon separated from the earth, it forgot to take Arequipa". It is a moonscape. When I woke up in the nightbus at 6:00, I was travelling though the sunrise on a glowing red highland plateau without vegetation but with some of the craziest colours and rock formations I have ever seen, and snow-capped mountain-tops in the not too far distance (and also not really that much higher up).... Towering over Arequipa is the perfectly cone-shaped volcano El Misti, and some gorgeous mountain ranges. The world's easiest 6000m mountain is said to be here, but since you still need an ixe-axe and crampons (which I don't have) and time (which I also don't have), I decided against even thinking about it. Also, I caught a strong cold, not an ideal pre-condition for crazy climbing expeditions.
Ah, tomorrow I'll add some pictures!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb