The Cordillera Blanca Adventures....


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ancash » Huaraz
June 14th 2007
Published: June 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, here are the photos from my two weeks of adventures in the Cordillera Blanca..... It was absolutely stunning. Hopefully the pictures will speak for themselves!

After the trek, I had a really relaxed day and just loved having a proper bed again! In the last two days I squeezed in some Ice-climbing and a glacier walk, before heading all the way down back to Lima to meet Lizzie (my sister), who was coming to join me for the next, and last, 6 weeks of the trip....


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The reward for 4 hours climbing...The reward for 4 hours climbing...
The reward for 4 hours climbing...

This was my reward after a savage climb and some very sketchy guiding by the guide. He took me along a 20cm aquaduct wall with 100m on one side - I ended up walking up through the water!
Camp 6Camp 6
Camp 6

This was the most incredible campsite I{d ever stayed in. There was a huge glacier filtering into many waterfalls into an amzing lagoon at the bottom. Then this huge flood plain, where we went fishing and the guides (but not us at 3600m) played football.
Sunrise...Sunrise...
Sunrise...

Having woken up at 6am it was definitely worht nipping outside in the freezing cold to see sunrise!
The end...The end...
The end...

Absolutely exhausted after the last day. It had a huge pass and a long long walk out... with a token bit of up hill right at the end just to finish you off!
Ice ClimbingIce Climbing
Ice Climbing

All our guide could say was ´Beuno, Beuno, Beuno!´ This was whether we fell off, got to the top or finished... he was really helpful as I´m sure you can imagine!


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb