Accent of Huascaran


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ancash » Huaraz » Mount Huarascan
June 10th 2005
Published: June 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Cordillera Blanca..

I figured i´d go big and then go to the Beach!! I attempted Mt. Huascaran (6655m), the highest point in Peru is the South summit (6700m) but it is impassable this year, so we attempted the north summit. Didn´t make it, but had a beautiful 5 days on the mountain..and cold, and hard to breath. Spent 2 nights camped on the ice at 5400m. Hard to sleep up there!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Mt. HuascaranMt. Huascaran
Mt. Huascaran

View from Huaraz
My burrowMy burrow
My burrow

This guy carried my backpack all the way to base camp!
Ben and IBen and I
Ben and I

campo baso
Nils and BenNils and Ben
Nils and Ben

Scoping out the route!
Nils and BenNils and Ben
Nils and Ben

Playing the "dice game" in high camp
MeMe
Me

An early morning summit attempt


Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 76; dbt: 0.205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb