Huaraz or the Himalaya?


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ancash » Cordillera Blanca
January 3rd 2010
Published: January 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The bus pulled in at first light, and I headed for a hotel I´d heard about. The chap at the front desk couldn´t have been more helpful, although a little more Spanish on my part could have made it easier, and he showed me to my room.. double bed ensuite, and wow, what a view... not a cloud in the sky, I could see at least 8 snow capped mountains stretching the whole length of the valley, but needed sleep! When I awoke it was still a lovely day, but a few clouds hugged some of the high points. I set out to explore the town, mostly dry and dusty, where every second shop was either a ferreteria, zapateria or a chifa - I think that 's an ironmonger, shoe shop or chinese restaurant. It seemed very laid back, but maybe it was sleeping off a heavy new year? I found out afterward that there had also been a magnitude 5.7 earthquake in the region 2 days before. I had a v special lunch (remind me to show you the photos) and the sunset was amazing.
Next day I joined a tour bus full of Peruvians, and after a couple of random stops we made it to Yungay, a town completely destroyed by a landslide 40 years ago. There are a few bits and pieces that have been reconstructed to remind you what was there, and there is also the reamins of a bus, twisted up and left as a monument to the estimated 20 000 people who died. It was pretty hard to believe what happened, as the debris actually jumped a ridge to get to the town, travelling at an estimated 200 mph. Horrifying, but also strangely distant.
Next we headed up a dirt road into the national park... a spectacularly steep sided valley, with a pretty turquoise lake, at 3850 metres. It wasn´t as cold as I thought it was going to be, and somewhat randomly there were guys with rowing boats. We piled into a couple of boats and the guy was rowing harder than most people in the gym.... no wonder he looked like he was in his late 40s! It wasn´t until we were nearly back that he stopped and asked for money.... sneaky!
A quick lunch stop where the entire staff seemed to be 10 year old children... food wasn´t that great, but at least they couldn´t add up for the bill!
Next we stopped off at a place selling Dulce de Leche flavoured with local fruit... I smell a backhander here!!... and headed into the Plaza de Armas in Carhas. I´m still not sure why, but at least there was a Christmas tree made from plastic bottles (pre-recycling!)
Final stop was at a pottery workshop: surprise surprise they make pottery the same way we do! (can you tell I was tired and grumpy by now?)
Back to Huaraz, an hour or two to relax, then down to the bus station for the ride back to Lima. I was booked in a downstairs seat this time... but better seat and I hardly felt the bumps, sleepy most of the way back, but still arriving at 6am...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

mountain lakemountain lake
mountain lake

about 3500m up - thems is big mountains around


Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb