One Long Day


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Montañita
October 31st 2009
Published: November 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I woke up this morning around 830am. Since I was up, I might as well try to get on the surf trip up the coast at 10am. I stumbled into town to check if there was still room and nobody was around. I joined Bill and Tom at Tiki Limbo for breakfast, I ended up just having Tea just to get me moving. I popped in to school a few times and finally around 9:50 Isidro was packing up surfboards for the trip. I asked him if there was still room and he said there was...I dropped a dollar at the breakfast table and ran back to my room to change. I made it back to the school a few minutes past 10, loaded my surfboard on the van and headed north with the rest of the group (8 in total).

We ended up going to Isla del Plata first to do the tourist trap there. Since I´m not too interested in history or archeology of Ecuador, I wasn´t too impressed....kinda reminded me of Ruby Falls! They did have a mud bath there that my feet partook in...very very interesting.

After touring the museum for 30 minutes, we packed back into the van and headed to our surf spot.

The surf was amazing. Although the weather wasn´t too great, it was a great day for being on the water. I caught a few awesome waves with my longest ride running about 10-12 seconds. Not too bad.

After two hours of surfing, we packed into the little bungalo restaurant for lunch and hot chocolate...there´s nothing better than hot chocolate on a cold day after hours of surfing...ver nice. I also had some ceviche with shrimp...didn´t know ceviche is served cold, it it was good anyways. Along with the ceviche from the restaurant, Isidro brought stuff for sandwiches. I bought the bullet and had a ham and cheese sandwich made from scratch with ecuadorian cheese (not too bad...but very interesting). After a couple of those, I was set and hung out until everyone else was finished and then headed back to Montañita and got there around 3pm.

As soon as we got back, I threw my surfboard into the storage area in the school and ran to the cabañas for class. We had class from 2-6pm today but I sacrificed the first hour or so for the surf trip. Needless to say I didn´t miss much. After learning the rest of past tense and some swear words and pick up lines, I took a 3 hours nap before getting ready for the fiesta tonight. After showering, shaving, and changing I headed into town for one of the longest nights in my life!

Before I headed to Tiki Limbo for dinner (I love that place) I popped into the internet cafe to check up on things back home. After dinner, I went to look for pedialyte at the pharmacy to help with keeping my electrolytes up last night. On my way, I ran into Raya and Braeden and had a few beers with them. After our drinks, they headed with me to the pharmacy where I found what I was looking for.

We headed to our boy Edison´s kiosk in cocktail alley to start our nightly ritual...mojitos for me and gin and tonics for the other two. We had a few drinks and walked around...lots of people everywhere...and lots of bonfires on the beach. It definitely is turning out to be a crazy weekend.

After hours of hanging out in cocktail alley and walking around the town, Braeden was getting a little tired so Raya threw in the idea of running into the ocean for a quick dip...not a bad idea since it was pretty nice out. We all stripped down and ran into the water...I was the only one that completely submerged. Contrary to what I thought, I didn´t stay wet for long and dried pretty quickly once my clothes were back on.

I started getting tired around 4am but forced myself to stay awake until daylight. I drank a redbull and did some jumping jacks. Around 5am Braeden started dozing off in his chair, so the two canucks headed back to their hostel to catch some sleep. I hung out and grabbed a kabob and una hamburguesa con queso from one of the street venders and hung out on the beach until the sun came up around 6. I headed back to the cabaña around 630am and crashed...quite a fun night!...but not something I could do every day!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0929s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb