Just passing through


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
December 5th 2014
Published: December 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

QuitoQuitoQuito

Quito by day and night as seen from my hostel
Through where? Ecuador! Yes it is true, and it is sad and perhaps even bad, but I am just in Ecuador to get to Peru. Not because I don't like Ecuador, or wouldn't like to see it, but because of the priorities on this trip. At first I was going to do the Galapagos Islands as I passed on down, but as you all know, my money dictated otherwise. So, without the Galapagos, there was the rest of Ecuador to consider. I considered it, and I decided it was not the main aim of this journey. I have been to Ecuador before and I will return here one day. But Ecuador needs time, and if I can't give it the time it deserves than I rather just go through it relatively fast instead of even trying. I will concentrate on the north of Peru in the next two weeks, a part of Peru I have wanted to visit for a long time.

So, with that decision out of the way, I just needed to choose in which places I would break up my ride through Ecuador. I wasn't going to just bus through in one go, that would have been
QuitoQuitoQuito

Plaza Grande
too tiring. So, I cut the journey in three. First stop Otavalo, just one night, and no, I didn't see the famous market. Next Quito, two nights, and a day of sauntering around the old colonial centre. Final stop, Cuenca, two nights, and another historical centre to amble through.

Because of this, I can't tell you much about Ecuador and the Ecuadorians. Well I could, I have read up on it, but from a travellers perspective there is little I can say. Except maybe this. I have met loads of people travelling through Colombia, coming from Ecuador, who didn't find the Ecuadorians very friendly. I beg to differ. I have found them as friendly and welcoming as anywhere else I have been so far.

Then the old rivalry between Quito and Cuenca. Which is the nicer town? In my opinion Quito, as far as colonial architecture is concerned at least. Cuenca is smaller and if you don't like bigger cities, than perhaps you should go for Cuenca. But really as far as the old town is concerned Quito is not just a little nicer, but way nicer.

Other observations on Cuenca, I have discovered there are quite
QuitoQuitoQuito

Ecuadorian flag on top of the Presidential Palace
a few retired Americans around, I am guessing they come here for the cheap living and agreeable climate.

Also here is a new piece of information I learned, and which I would like to share with you. Remember the Panama hat? Well it is not from Panama at all! It comes, and is made in Ecuador. The reason Panama got associated with it is that the Spanish, when they were still in charge in these parts, exported the hats via Panama. So, there you have it. Might come in handy during a pub quiz, or just if you want to impress some random person with your vast knowledge.

Finally I would like to impart these words of wisdom to you, which is that busing through any country is not something I would recommend. Take your time, there is loads to see here. Only, if like me, you know you will be back one day and have other priorities at this point in time, should you even contemplate doing what I have done. If not, stay, discover, and relax. It is so much more enjoyable than what I am doing.

To any Ecuadorians who might be reading this.
QuitoQuitoQuito

Inside the main cathedral
Sorry amigos, your country deserves a better write-up from me. I will make it up one day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

QuitoQuito
Quito

Loads of gold in Quito's most ornate church, La Compania de Jesus
QuitoQuito
Quito

Plaza, church and monastery of San Fransisco
QuitoQuito
Quito

Church of San Fransisco
QuitoQuito
Quito

Walking along
QuitoQuito
Quito

View up to El Panecillo
QuitoQuito
Quito

La Ronda
QuitoQuito
Quito

Good view from on top of Basilica del Voto Nacional
QuitoQuito
Quito

Another view from on top of the Basilica
QuitoQuito
Quito

Street scene
CuencaCuenca
Cuenca

River views in Cuenca
CuencaCuenca
Cuenca

Cathedral
CuencaCuenca
Cuenca

Inside the catherdral
CuencaCuenca
Cuenca

Feeding the pigeons
CuencaCuenca
Cuenca

Church of San Sebastian
CuencaCuenca
Cuenca

Street in Cuenca
CuencaCuenca
Cuenca

Another view of the cathedral


5th December 2014

Tours and Bussing through
Dearest Slow Ox, It has come to my attention that for the second time this trip you have decided to go for the fast option. As much as I can concur that sometimes need must, what really comes to my mind is the 6 Ps ... Prior Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance. Ecuador is cool, especially the real and not so real equators. I also suggest walking up the hill next to Quito for some great bird's eye view of the city.
6th December 2014

Ha!
But I never planned on spending much time in Ecuador in the first place. It was going to just be the Galapagos for a week, nothing more. But with the Galapagos falling out of my budget I wasn't going to fill it with other things in Ecuador, rather spend more time in Northern Peru. Ecuador will just have to wait, as many other countries have done and are still doing. And I did the real and not so real Equators back in 2004... Once is enough!
9th December 2014

Well said...
Definitely enjoy reading your blogs every time! Even if it's just a fly by lol. Great job and eat some grilled guinea pig :) ...watch your bags closely on the buses there, especially vulnerable the closer you get to the Peru border!!
9th December 2014

My bags are still with me ;)
I got a night bus from Cuenca to Chiclayo, my bags were on the same bus and made it to Chiclayo with me. I didn't worry really, the bus was good and only half full... The border crossing at 2 am went fast and smoothly.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb