Australia Day in Ecuador!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
January 26th 2007
Published: January 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This being my first Australia Day outside of my country, I became particularly patriotic and began to wear little koalas and kangaroos on my clothing, and telling people about the wonders of dancing the 'Heel and Toe'. This all culminated in my first Triple J Hottest 100 party, hosted in the hostel where I am currently living called 'Mama Latina', in Cuenca. We managed to hook up the broadcast (until the internet died, thanks anyway Paul) and the four Aussie girls who teach here at CEDEI: Lea, Gretel, Rachel and myself, revelled in hearing Aussie accents live on radio and a bunch of music that we have no idea about because we've been here for most of last year!

So we roped in a bunch of other extranjeros and Ecuadorian friends, to share in our love of beer (couldn't find any New or VB in Cuenca, but you can see in these pics that I improvised) and also...the bushdance! I think it must be my mission to teach everyone I meet here to dance like a drunken Aussie. But they loved it, and despite timing issues with changing partners, a fair dinkum effort was achieved. Enjoy the pics, and Happy Australia Day!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1111s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb