Migrants of the Caribbean


Advertisement
Central America Caribbean
January 20th 2007
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

There are three known ways to cross from Colombia (South America) into Panamá (Central america).

The most dangerous and least traveled path is over land, through the Darian gap. Apparently, if you don´t get lost, killed, kiddnapped or eaten up by dense jungle your doing well.

The least dangerous and most traveled path is over air, quick, simple - but really... how boring.

The middle ground is taking a sail-boat via the San Blas islands. This was my chosen path, and these are the details of my travels.

Unfortunatly, I didn´t have alot of options on which boat I could go with, so I took the only one that was running, it was called "Karma". I should point out that all other boats weren´t running the route due to bad weather, except us, in a small, old, shabby boat.

Sailing out of Cartagena, Colombia was fantastic, what a wild way to leave the continent. I was filled with excitment and great expectations for the voage ahead. Once we hit the high seas I started to feel a little queasy. No matter, I said to myself, take some deep breaths and focus on something "stable" I don´t get seasick anyway....

After 40 hours of CONTINUOUS nausea, throwing up and feeling really, really drunk, we had arrived at San blas islands (thank God). I would advise anyone to grab some seasickness tablets rather than a bottle of rum (mind you the rum in Colombia is top notch).

The islands themselves were excellent. Your stereotypical image of paradise (you can imagine it) great snorkeling for the tropical fish and a shipwreck to paddle around. but two days was enough at the islands and we needed to get ourselves to Panamá.

Once we´d passed the dodgy immigration guy, we had smooth sailing all the way up the coast of Panamá to our costal village destination. Actually as we were coming in to shore the wind gave out, and with no motor it took about an hour to go 2 kms, but we got there end, shaken but not stired.

...and so begins the next chapter of my travels, the Central American one.

Chao everyone,

Greg.





Advertisement



31st January 2007

Told you so :)
I told you that you would get sea sick ha ha - and did you listen to me.... no... 40 hours is a long time... Congrats on getting there old chap! Sounds amazing. Hugs Manda

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb