Colada morada


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
November 15th 2005
Published: November 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

We wanted to do something a little special to celebrate Halloween so we left Yanayacu, and passed little ol' Cosanga, to go to a discoteca in the big city of Baeza.

Baeza, regional capital, founded in 1550, population.... 5 thousand.

Jose promised that there would be a great Halloween party and after roaming around we finally found a discoteca the size of a large living room with some people in it.

You get a lot of attention when you walk into a place and you're a whole foot taller than everyone else... especially from the town drunk.
He insisted that I dance with someone --- a proposition that was absolutely terrifying. But some how, by the grace of god, this drunk found a pretty Ecuatoriana my age who was willing to dance with a giant gringo.

Mabela and I danced and talked. It turns out that asking someone their zodiac sign is not ridiculous in Ecuador, but I couldn't help but laugh before I gave my answer.

All this was going on under the watchful eye of Mabela's enormous father, who after a few dances decided that we were getting too close and it was time to go.

It was a fun night.

Halloween is basically an imported holiday here. An older imported holiday (imported from Spain) takes place on Nov. 1st and 2nd. The Ecuatorian twist is colada morada and guaguas de pan, which I was determined to make. Guaguas de pan are easy, just make your bread in the shape of a baby (Quichua baby is guagua), but colada morada is a whole 'nother story.
Colada morada is basically a punch, and Carlos insured me that he knew how to make it... he didn't. Everyone knew that blue corn flour, some blueberry like things and a bunch of spices went into it, but that's where the recipe stopped. We put everything we could find from the kitchen into a pot and then moved on to picking leaves off of trees and grabbing whole plants out of the yard. We cooked this brew over an open fire and hoped to god it wasn't going to taste awful.
It was delicious.

Now if I can just figure out how to kill, dress, and cook the turkey that lives up the road (my parents are terrified) then I can celebrate Thanksgiving properly too.

-Aaron






Advertisement



15th November 2005

Little Equador
I really enjoy reading your blog while I am in my cube working in NY. It reminds me that there is a world out there. Michael and I live in Sleepy Hollow, or Little Equador as we call it, so when you come back to the states, you can visit us and reminisce! Happy Thanksgiving!
16th November 2005

Hi!
Hey babe, just a note to say hi- your photos are awesome. You look like a jungle prince. Don't eat any more bugs. -Bronwen Aaron, I have a confession to make. I want to be you. -love, Austen
16th November 2005

Turkey tastic!
Hi Aaron!! I share your desire to celebrate Halloween and Thanksgiving. My halloween party was a first for most of the people who attended but it was a blast and included watermelons carved like pumpkins and spray painted orange. I am toying with the idea of cooking a thanksgiving dinner for a few of my friends here but humorously enough my mom is also terrified about the thought of me cooking a turkey. I can imagine your task of actually killing a turkey is much more daunting and I am sure the turkey will probably become suspicious of you soon if it hasn't already. Animals seem to have 6th sense sometimes. Glad that the punch turned out to be glorious I would love to try it however I would guarentee that you will never be able to make it taste the same way again. I am so glad you are keeping this blog I love to read about all the stuff that is happening. I am having some problems with my blog but hopefully I will be able to update again soon. Thankfully I have a full time job now which was not found a moment too soon because I was about to completely run out of money. Let's hear it for flying by the seat of your pants! Huzzah! Much love, Emily
22nd November 2005

Turkey Help
I'll e-mail Ted Nugent for you and ask him what he would do in this particular situation.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb