Tortugas Enormes!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos
September 27th 2006
Published: September 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

giant tortoisesgiant tortoisesgiant tortoises

at the Darwin Centre
Hola mis amigos,

I´ve just returned from what I think might be one of the most amazing things I do in my lifetime....the 5 days I spent on the Galapagos Islands were just unbelievable.

As soon as we landed in the Galapagos Island of Baltra we were greeted by birds diving into the water like arrows and pelicans gulping down a morning snack. The Frigate birds swoop around high overhead with their terradactyl wings and it feels like you have entered another world.

I was so excited when we got to Galapagos, I felt like a kid receiving presents every half an hour with the landscapes and wildlife... I couldn´t believe I was finally in a place where I used to dream of going to.

The islands are very different some with very arid land and some colourful with reds and greens. We would have to get up early every morning as we had a schedule to follow which went something like this.

* 6.30am breakfast
* 7.30am get dingy to island, wet landing, 3 hrs easy hike on rocks
* 11.00am back on board, rest
* 12.00pm lunch, after lunch siesta
* 2.30pm snorkelling or
hanging out with the sea lionshanging out with the sea lionshanging out with the sea lions

they seem to sleep a lot, something we have in common
dingy ride or relaxing on beach
* 4.30pm back on board snacks, rest, beers
* 6.30pm briefing for next day activites
* 7.00pm 3 course dinner - excellent food
* 8.00pm beer o´clock!!
* sailing through the night to next island usually in bed by 10-11pm


Not bad huh, waking up to a new island and landscape every morning, my cabin was cool, i would just open the window and breathe the fresh air and hear sea lions honking and birds flying past. Imagine waking up to that! I´ve never had a big smile on my face at 6am in the morning before in my life!

We got really close to the wildlife and its amazing to see their behaviour in a natural environment. We saw giant tortoises, hundreds of sea lions, tons of weird and wonderful birds, penguins, whales, dolphins, sea turtles, colourful fishes, sharks, sting rays, eagle rays, land iguanas, marine iguanas...and more.

The tour group were really nice, the crew were good, the guide was amazing; very knowledgable, loved his job and had a very cute accent 😊 I was ok with the sea sickness with the tablets i had but I am
red crabsred crabsred crabs

tons of these crabs on the rocks
still swaying now and think I still will be for a few days.

To summarise the trip was awesome..take a look at the pics but I´m afraid it wont do it justice!






Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

pelicanspelicans
pelicans

riding on the boat
post office baypost office bay
post office bay

just put your postcards into a barrel without a stamp and hope that someone will deliver it for you
people my tourpeople my tour
people my tour

just arrived...about to get on the boat
sea lion bullsea lion bull
sea lion bull

guarding his territory
marine iguanasmarine iguanas
marine iguanas

heading to the surf
me and Katieme and Katie
me and Katie

on a pretty island
birdsbirds
birds

sorry cant remember the name
more sea lionsmore sea lions
more sea lions

they are great to watch
land iguanaland iguana
land iguana

eat cactus you know
beer o´clockbeer o´clock
beer o´clock

last night on the boat and Martin´s birthday!
frigate bird riding on the boatfrigate bird riding on the boat
frigate bird riding on the boat

early morning...worth waking up for!
another iguanaanother iguana
another iguana

have to be careful not to tread on them
An inquisitve sea lionAn inquisitve sea lion
An inquisitve sea lion

give him a ball


28th September 2006

Greetings from Blighty
Hi Cathy, Wow, I am so jealous - your Galapagos trip looks awesome and it sounds like you are having a great time. Keep the blogs coming and all your amazing photos. I can't wait to see more photos when you come home. Take care, Carrie xx
28th September 2006

Be careful
Watch out for the Killer Sting Rays!
29th September 2006

wow looks stunning! loving the iguanas. Did I tell you we've got a friendly squirrel :)
29th September 2006

6am!
6am with a smile on your face - sounds amazing! :-) I wanna inquisitive sea lion!
29th September 2006

Squirrel enormes
yes you said that it was a big bugger and you were scared of it :)
29th September 2006

Quieres una booby?
And i thought you might want a Blue-footed Booby!!?
2nd October 2006

dog with hat
forget your amazing picutes on beach with real live sea-lions! can't believe you found a picture with a dog with a hat! nice work Cat. Just so you know work is still the same here - but quieter. take care x

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb