Mitad del Mundo


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
September 21st 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

View from El panecilloView from El panecilloView from El panecillo

a spanish lesson and tour of the city

I went to the middle of the world and straddled the equator


I have been pretty busy the last couple of days, I went to the Old own and visited some amazing churches and also went up to a statue on the hill (el panecillo) they say its the last virgin in Quito.

I have finished my spanish lesson which was hard work this morning as I had a slight hangover. I met some people in the hostel last night and we went for an 'all you can eat and drink' for $12 ...as you can imagine we were in no hurry to leave!

Went to the equator line and a viewpoint to a crater which was eerie as we were in the clouds...thats my taxi driver at the end of the vid by the way...a cheerful guy!

Check out some video (might be a bit large for slower connections)
In the clouds

Will meet my tour tonight and I'm off to the Galapagos tomorrow..very excited!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Mital del MundoMital del Mundo
Mital del Mundo

latitude 0 0 0
Mital del MundoMital del Mundo
Mital del Mundo

on both sides of the equator
street of seven crossesstreet of seven crosses
street of seven crosses

the virgin on the hill
relaxing in the hostelrelaxing in the hostel
relaxing in the hostel

Hostal Posada de Maple


27th September 2006

Laughing with clouds
What did you say to make him laugh?

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb