Espanola and Suarez Point (Day 3)


Advertisement
Published: June 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We woke not that I slept at all (very grouchy) and had breakfast at 2.30. Boiled egg (eurggh), sausages, fresh fruit, cereal and yoghurt. I could get used to this 3 fresh meals a day which are very good for me, although I do find myself craving a Parmo and toast with Lurpak on, which is bad seen as though I have only been gone a week.
After breakfast we did a wet landing on a really nice beach full of sea lions and marine iguanas, some of the group did snorkelling but me and Hollie couldn't be bothered. We walked down to the end of the beach and at exactly 9am loads of marine iguanas started travelling from the beach to the wet rocks for breakfast (algae), it was so strange you could have set your watch by them. After this I spent an hour in the water playing with the sea lions.
We then got in the small boats and did a 40 minute snorkel, the current was really strong so we had to be careful but the water caves were amazing. The whole group saw a lobster and I must have been looking right at it but for the life of me I couldn't see it. This snorkelling session had soo many amazing fish and sea life it was the best so far.
After the snorkelling we went back to the boat where there was fresh juice and cheese and crackers waiting for us, we had an hour before the afternoon of the birds began.
We landed on Espanola (dry landing) and saw loads of iguanas, blue footed boobies, albatrosses, sea lions and other birds, this afternoon wasn't the greatest, birds aren't really my thing (well the flying type anyway) although we did see quite a cool volcanic blow hole where the pressure from he volcano underneath the island sends water bursting about 30 foot in the air.
After the so called dry landing (a wave hit me on the way back into the boat making my sunglasses fly into the sea) we played cards (Hearts) with Craig, Kirsty and Asha (like a brimful) who me and Hollie have become very friendly with. Soon after we had tea which was chickenfish, a fish that taste exactly like chicken very strange and after to bed I slept on the bottom bunk tonight to see if I could get a decent nights sleep for once.

Muchos Love

Brown


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1007s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb