A short visit to Colombia/ Courte visite en Colombie


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia
November 26th 2008
Published: November 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Promises are made to be broken, right? When I promised me Mom (just for you, Hannah!) I wouldn't go to Colombia because she was scared I would end up joining Ingrid Betancour, I meant it... But I met a lot of travellers who had been here and said it had been one of the highlights of their South American trip, and I couldn't resist seeing it for myself.

Let's start by telling it as it is: no, you don't see guerilla all over the place. No, you don't see fields of coca everyday, and neither are you offered cocaine on every street corner. And yes, Colombia definitely is a very safe country to visit: there is lots of police and military around (and it has to be said ladies, most of them are rather yummy!), and not once did I feel threatened. Unfortunately, I couldn't spend much time here, but what little time I had, I really enjoyed. Colombians are amongst the nicest and warmest people I have met on my trip so far: because tourism is still relatively new here, they are not bored of seeing hords of gringos walking their streets, and will come talk to you any chance they get. And if you tell them that you love their country, you are definitely rewarded with the biggest of smiles: they are proud of their land, proud of their history, hate to hear about the negative image it has around the world, and are very keen to tell you all the places you should visit, which incidentally end up being the whole country! I really didn't have time for that, so I had to be very choosy: I arrived at the border town of Ipiales and immediately set off for Popayán, some 9 hours away (one thing about Colombian bus companies: when they tell you the trip's going to take 3 hours, take it to mean that you'll be there in 5. Works every time!).

The next day, I set off to Tierradentro, and I have to say some of that 6 hour bus ride was absolutely terrifying: it had been raining a lot, the mud road was full of potholes, and at some points we were far too close to the edge (with a 2 or 300 ft drop) for comfort... It took us 6 hours to cover the 78 km between the 2 towns! It was worth it though: Tierradentro is a charming little place in the middle of the mountains. I came here specifically to see the tombs that are scattered around the mountains: I started off at the museums, one of which, on local Indigens' past lives, was very interesting. I went to the first set of tombs, which are accessed with big steps going underground: the tombs are like chambers with 2 or 3 arches, and very little is known about who actually put them there. They are unique to this part of Colombia, and information is thin of the ground: in the more plain of them, they found a lot of remains, and in the biggest and best decorated, there were very few bones, which probably means that the 'common' people were burried all together, and the important folks were made more of a fuss about. While there, I met a Colombian couple who were going to the same sites, so we ended up spending most of the day together: we went to 2 other sites, one of which containing statues (once again, not much is known about them!), and then we stopped in the charming little village of San Andres for a drink. We set off again to see the last of the sites, and I left them there: they were very tired and wanted to go back to their hotel, while I was very keen to climb to the top of the highest local mountain, El Aguacate. I had to go to the top of the mountain I was on, then go down again, to go up to El Aguagate: it only took me an hour of solid walking to get there, and the views from the top were splendid. It started raining just as I got back to the village, so for once I was rather pleased with how in sync the sky and myself had been!

The next day I set off at 6am again, but not on an empty stomach: the owner of the place where I stayed (which technically doesn't have a name, but they call it 'casa rosada': I'll let you guess why!) got up especially and came down to the hostal (she doesn't live there, she has another house with her family, I had the whole hostel to myself for 2 nights, and am now such a big girl I didn't even get spooked out!) just to feed me some papaya so that I'd have some breakfast in me for the bus ride.

Back in Popayán, I set off immediately for the town of Armenia, in the coffee region of Colombia: now, I'll have to admit, I don't like coffee, I'm not that interested in it (I saw fincas in El Salvador, found it very interesting, but don't want to see the same thing again in every country!), so I commited a great sin and ignored the coffee plantations! A couple of days later (days mainly spent on the internet, to sort out my post-Colombia destinations, which came as a surprise even to me!), I got on the road again: 6 hours later, I was in Medellín, but realised I wouldn't have enough time to spend the night, so I immediately got on the bus to Cartagena, 13 hours away, a city which I absolutely didn't want to miss. I wasn't disappointed: the old town center is surrounded by a wall (built by the Spaniards to protect Cartagena from the pirates) and it is absolutely gorgeous, definitely one of the best colonial towns I have been to, once you get past the hords of American tourists who just came off their cruise boats and all have stickers with the name of their guide on it, not that they'll ever lose their guide given that they won't walk more than 3ft away from them! After quite a while being quite good at the direction thing, I proved true to myself again and managed to get lost every single time I left my hotel, and I mean really, truly, completely 'I have no idea where I am' lost... On one of these geographically confused occasions, I met Luigi, a local guy who nicely walked me back to my hotel, and we ended up spending the evening in one of the local bars.
The next day, I went to Islas Del Rosario, a national park full of islands of all sizes: the snorkeling is meant to be great there, and was really the reason why I went. But luck always being on my side, the waves were huge that day, and I was just too chicken to risk swimming to the reef...

I was soon on the road again, this time to go to Santa Marta, 4 hours (which turned out to be 6h30) from there, another coastal town. My plan was to go onto Taganga, a fishing village so nice that it has now pretty much become a gringo must-see. However, it was already late by the time I got to Santa Marta, and I fell for its somewhat rustic charm and decided to stay there instead. I met Marlon, a local guy, and we ended up drinking beers in the street, after which one of his mates turned up and we went to the roof terrace outside the mate´s flat: just that afternoon, I was very disappointed because I was going to leave Colombia not having truly experienced a lot, but it all changed... Soon quite a few neighbours were out, and sitting there (I was the only girl, and the only one with a chair: Colombians will not have a girl standing up, even if you insist you´re fine!) I realised something: this is what my trip is all about. More than seeing fantastic mountains, lovely beaches, breathtaking towns, I set off hoping to do a lot of people watching, meet people wherever I went, and spend time with locals to learn more about what living in their country is really like. This is what I love, and have always loved: meeting people of different cultures, and it doesn't matter I haven't been to Taganga, or haven't had a chance to dive here (it rained a fair bit, making the visibility in the sea poor, so I didn't go), because I got to meet some fascinating people who gave me an insight into their daily lives, their hopes and their problems, and this more than anything really is what interests me. And in this case, I learned that Colombian men like to hang out together, discussing the latest gossip (that day, it was that a couple they know had had a fight in the street, the girl ended up hitting her bloke with a beer bottle, giving him a split lip and opening his skull! She was jealous I was told!) and... smoking the biggest of 'roll up'. We had a good time, they told me all about the problems of trying to get a visa when you're Colombian, before telling me that fair enough, a lot of their country men do try to smuggle drugs out in suitcases, it pays well and some just don't have much choice if they want to feed their families. We went on to the beach where all the Christmas lights looked very surreal to me: I still can't believe it's Christmas, especially when I see Santa's sleigh on the sand, with Coconut trees around it!

I don't want to dwell too much on it, but if you are reading this considering whether or not you should go to Colombia, don't hesitate one second: it is a splendid country, it definitely is extremely safe (OK, maybe just don't venture too much in the middle of the jungle on your own. I said it was safe, I didn't say you could be completely irresponsible!), and its people are so friendly you just won't believe it.
Unfortunately, I only got to spend 12 days here, I wish it had been more, but a surprise destination is awaiting, and I can't wait!!!!

---------------------------------------------

Les promesses sont faites pour etre rompues, non? Quand j'ai promis a ma Moman et Nico que je n'irais pas en Colombie parce qu'ils avaient peur que je finisse avec Ingrid Betancour, j'avais vraiment l'intention de ne pas y aller... Mais j'ai rencontré plein de voyageurs qui y sont allés et m'ont dit que c'était un de leurs pays preferes, alors je n'ai pas pu resisté, il a fallu que je vienne voir de moi-meme.

Commençons par dire quelques verites: non, on ne voit pas la guerilla partout ou on va. Non, on ne voit pas de champs de coca tous les jours, et on ne vous offre pas non plus de cocaine a tous les coins de rue. Et oui, la Colombie est un pays tres sur a visiter. Malheureusement, je návais pas beaucoup de temps, alors ca a été une visite éclair, mais j'ai vraiment adoré le peu de temps que j'ai eu. Les Colombiens sont parmi les gens les plus sympa et chaleureux que j'aie rencontrés au cours de mon épopée: parce que le tourisme est encore relativement nouveau ici, ils n'ont pas (encore!) marre de voir des hordes de gringos se balader dans leurs rues, et ils vous parlent des que l'occasion se presente. Et si vous leur dites que vous adorez leur pays, ils vous gratifient du plus grands des sourires: ils sont fiers de leur terre, de leur histoire, detestent entendre parler de l'image negative que leur pays a autour du monde, et veulent toujours vous dire quels endroits il faut absolument voir en Colombie, qui en résumé, est tout le pays! Je n'avais vraiment pas le temps nécessaire pour ça, alors j'ai du faire des choix: je suis arrivée en Colombie par la ville frontiere d'Ipiales et me suis immediatement mise en route pour Popayán, a quelques 9 heures de la (une chose sur les compagnies de bus Colombiennes: quand ils vous disent que le voyage va durer 3h, ajoutez en 2. Ca marche a chaque fois!)

Le lendemain, je suis allee a Tierradentro, et je dois avouer que je n'en menais vraiment pas large a certains moments dans le bus: il avait beaucoup plu, la route boueuse etait pleine de trous et bien glissante, et parfois on etait bien trop pres du bord (et des precipes de 100m) pour que j'apprecie les belles vues en toute tranquilite... Mais ça valait le coup: Tierradentro est un petit village tout chou au milieu des montagnes (qui savaient que les Andes sont aussi en Colombie?!?) Je suis allée a Tierradentro specifiquement pour voir les tombes qui sont eparpillées au milieu des montagnes: j'ai commencé par visiter les musées, dont un sur la vie des indigenes d'avant, était tres intéressant. Je suis ensuite allée au premier 'cimetiere': on accede aux tombes par de grosses marches (style pas de géant) qui vont sous terre. Les tombes sont comme des chambres souterraines ou il y a 2 ou 3 arches, et on sait tres peu de choses, voire meme rien, sur qui les a mises la. Elles sont uniques a cette partie de Colombie, et les informations qu'ils ont pu collecter sont minces: dans les tombes les plus petites et communes, ils ont trouvé beaucoup de restes humains, alors que dans les plus grandes tombes joliment decorées, il y avait tres peu d'os, donc on pense que les gens du peuple étaient enterrés tous ensemble, et les gens importants avaient droit a plus d'égards. La-bas, j'ai rencontré un couple de Colombiens qui suivaient le meme itineraire que moi alors on a fini par passer la plupart de la journée ensemble: nous sommes allés a 2 autres sites, dont un qui avait des statues (dont on ne sait pas grand chose non plus!), et puis on s'est arretes au mignong petit village de San Andres pour boire quelque chose (a vrai dire, je ne sais toujours pas ce que c'était, un truc visqueux quelconque!). Nous sommes repartis pour voir le dernier des sites, et je les ai quittes la: ils etaient fatigues et voulaient rentrer a leur hotel, alors que j'avais tres envie de grimper jusqu'au sommet de la plus haute montagne locale, El Aguacate. Pour ca, j'ai du monter au sommet de la montagne ou j'etais, redescendre, avant de remonter de l'autre cote:ça ne m'a pris qu'une heure de marche intensive (il commencait a se faire tard), et les vues du sommet etaient splendides. Il a commence a pleuvoir juste quand je suis rentree, pour une fois j'ai été synchro avec le ciel!

Le lendemain j'ai repris la route a 6h, mais pas avec le ventre creu: la proprio de l'endroit ou je suis restée (qui n'a d'ailleurs pas de nom. Pas la proprio, l'endroit!) s'est levée expres et est descendue a l'auberge (elle habite plus haut avec sa famille, j'ai été toute seule comme une grande dans l'auberge pendant 2 nuits, meme pas eu peur!) juste pour me donner de la papaye, elle ne voulait pas que je prenne le bus sand dejeuner...

De retour a Popayán, je suis direct partie pour la ville d'Armenia, dans a région du café de Colombie: bon, je dois admettre, je n'aime pas la café, et en plus j'ai vu des plantations au Salvador, alors je n'étais pas vraiment intéressée: j'ai commis le peché de ne pas faire de visites... 2 jours plus tard (passés principalement sur Internet pour régler les détails de mes destinations post-Colombie, qui m'ont moi-meme surprise!), jái repris la route: 6 heures plus tard, j'etais a Medellín, mais j'ai réalisé que je n'aurais pas le temps de visiter, alors je suis partie direct pour Cartagena, a 13h de la, ville que je ne voulais absolument pas manquer. Je n'ai pas été decue: la vieille ville est entouree par une muraille (construite par les Espagnols pour proteger la ville des pirates) et c'est vraiment magnifique, une des plus jolies villes coloniales que j'ai vues, quand vous arrivez a ignorer les hordes de gros Americains qui viennent de descendre de leur bateau de croisiere et on tous un autocollant avec le nom de leur guide, pas qu'ils risquent de le perdre de vue, etant donné qu'ils n'osent pas s'en éloigner a plus d'un metre! Apres quelques temps passes avec un semblant de sens de l'orientation, je suis a nouveau redevenue la Sophie que vous connaissez: a chaque fois que je sortais de mon hotel, je me paumais, et par la, je veux dire vraiment, completement 'je n'ai aucune idée d'ou je suis' perdue... Durant une de ces fos ou j'étais géographiquement confuse, j'ai rencontré Luigi, un local qui m'a gentiment ramenée a mon hotel, et on a fini par passer la soirée dans un bar.
Le lendemain, je suis allée a Islas del Rosario, un parc national plain d'iles de toutes tailles: c'est censé etre un super endroit pour faire de la plongée avec masque et tuba, et c'est la raison pour laquelle j'y suis allée. Mais comme j'ai toujours de la chance, les vagues étaient super grosses ce jour la, et je n'ai pas eu le courage de prendre le risque de nager jusqu'au corail...

J'etais bien vite a nouveau sur la route, cette fois-ci pour aller a Santa Marta, a 4h (donc 6h30) de la, une autre ville cotiere. Mon plan etait d'aller a Taganga, un village de pecheurs qui est si joli que c'est devenu L'Endroit pour les gringos. Mais vu qu'il etait deja tard quand je suis arrivee a Santa Marta, et que je suis tombee sous son charme quelque peu rustique, j'ai decide d'y rester. J'ai rencontre Marlon, un gars de la, et on a fini par boire des bieres dans la rue, apres quoi un de ses copains est arrive et on est alle sur la terrasse de l'appart du pote: cet apres-midi la, j'etais decue de devoir deja quitter la Colombie sans avoir vraiment pu gouter a la couleur locale, mais ca a bien vite change... Il y a vite eu plusieurs voisins qui nous ont rejoints, et assise la (j'etais la seule posee sur une chaise: les Colombiens n'acceptent pas qu'une fille reste debout, meme si vous insistez que vous etes tres bien debout!), je me suis rendue compte de quelque chose: ce genre de situation, c'est l'essence meme de mon voyage. Plus que voir des montagnes mangifiques, des plages splendides, des villes a vous couper le souffle, je suis partie en esperant passer beaucoup de temps juste a regarder les gens, rencontrer de nouvelles personnes, et passer du temps avec les locaux pour vraiment m'impregner de la culture des pays. C'est ce que j'aime, et ce que j'ai toujours aime: rencontrer des gens de cultures differentes, et c'est pas grave si je ne suis pas allee a Taganga, ou que je n'ai pas pu aller plonger ici (il a pas mal plu, et ca rend la visibilite nulle dans l'eau), parce que j'ai eu la chance de rencontrer fascinants qui m'ont donne un apercu de leur vie quotidienne, leurs espoirs et leurs problemes, et c'est ce qui m'interesse par dessus tout. Et dans ce cas la, j'ai appris que les Colombiens aiment trainer ensemble apres le boulot, en discutant des derniers potins (ce jour la, c'etait sur un couple qu'ils connaissent et qui s'etait battu dans la rue, la fille a foutu un coup de bouteille de biere au gars, qui a fini avec une levre explose et le crane ouvert! Apparemment elle etait jalouse!), et... fumer des 'roulees' enormes. On a bien rrigole, ils m'ont parle de la difficulte pour un Colombien d'obtenir un visa, avant de me dire que OK, quand meme, un grand nombre de leurs compatriotes essaient vraiment de passer les frontieres avec des valises pleines de drogue, ca paie bien et quelques personnes n'ont pas d'autre choix pour nourrir leur famille... Nous sommes alles sur la plage, ou les illuminations de Noel ne me paraissaient vraiment pas a leur place: je ne realise toujours pas que c'est Noel, surtout quand je vois la luge du Pere Noel sur le sable, avec des cocotiers autour!

Je ne veux pas le rabacher, mais si vous lisez ceci en vous demandant si vous devriez aller en Colombie ou pas, n'hesitez pas une seule seconde: c'est un pays magnifique, c'est vraiment tres tres securise (OK, faut pas etre bete non plus, ne vous aventurez pas tout seul au milieu de la jungle. J'ai dit que c'est securise, pas que vous pouvez etre completement irresponsable!), et ses habitants sont tellement gentils que vous n'y croirez pas. Malheureusement, je n'ai pu y passer que 12 jours, j'aurais voulu beaucoup plus de temps, mais ma prochaine destination surprise arrive, et j'ai hate!

Advertisement



5th December 2008

Completely agree
Glad to read you liked Colombia, it's such a great country and the people are so friendly - sounds like you experienced that too.
9th December 2008

I really loved it indeed! Just wish I'd had more time to visit it (am I ever gonna be happy with what I get?! lol!) and meet more of these soooo friendly people! Hope you're both OK, and that going back to the UK at a time of crisis isn't too hard for the 2 of you. Keep your chins up, you'll be off again soon!
10th December 2008

happy birthdayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb