About To Move On


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Taganga
May 9th 2008
Published: May 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So when I said in my last entry that there would be photos coming...I lied. They aren´t coming...ever. I encountered my first and hopefully only piece of bad luck 2 days ago. I was at Tayrona National Park, and decided to go for a walk on the beach. I found a big rock and sat down, and with my camera still being new, decided to play around with it and try to get to know it better. One misplaced finger lead to me accidently reformatting my memory card aka deleting all the pictures from the first 2 weeks of my trip. Even though I am not sure of what is ahead of me, I have a feeling that the pictures from the Salt Cathedral and the Ciudad Perdida trek are/were some of my favourite. Luckily, I made this mistake 2 weeks in, and not 7 weeks in, and because I am not travelling solo, I will be able to bum photos off of Luc for the 2 lost weeks. They won´t be the same to me with me not taking them, but they will serve the purpose and are better than nothing at all.
Onwards. We went to Tayrona National Park for 2 nights more to just try and relax after the trek, and chill before having to hop on buses and worry about schedules. The park is a very long beach, with several campgrounds coming off of the beach. We found a spot we liked, pitched our tents, and went straight ahead to try and master the art of husking coconuts. By the end of the 2 days, we were able to husk and crack a nut in about 20 minutes. The coconut was a nice change from all the tuna, mangos and bananas that we brung with us. *Sidenote - for people back home, this is a little comparison for you to see how cheap fruit is down here. 6 bananas and 12 baby mangos cost us 2,000 pesos, or the equivalant of about $1.25...not bad.* The weather was very hot and humid as we expected, but we lucked out with getting no rain, and from taking to the owner of the hostel we are at now, it rained here in Taganga the 2 days we were gone. So far we have been very lucky with the weather (knock on wood).
That should be it for now. We are going to bus to Cartegena tomorrow, which is only about 4 hours away, so it will a quick ride. That will then be it for the coast as we will start to head downwards away from the beaches, and back to a temperature that my body will enjoy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb