So Long Salento


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Quindío » Salento
August 15th 2011
Published: August 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Dave

First leg Las Vegas, Nevada, USA to Bogota, Colombia Bogota to Salento

CascadaCascadaCascada

Waterfall outside of Salento
So now it's time to say goodbye to Salento. Well maybe past time since I have been gone for over 2 weeks. Salento is the type of place I want to retire to. Nice weather year round and beautiful scenery.
La Serrana is another beautiful part of Salento. Basically I just laid around and chilled out all day. I'll provide you with some photos of me at the office.

At La Serrana there is one person who runs the place. His name is Pablo. Pablo is the official mascot of La Serrana and he reigns over the place. Pablo doesn't even drink water, they make him agua de panela con leche (basically sugar water with milk) because I'm told he doesn't like water. Actually he does drink water, I've seen him. Of course a dog will drink water if he is thirsty enough. I don't think he eats dog food though. Pablo get fed scraps from breakfast and dinner. And then there is all the food he gets from people throughout the day. Pablo isn't overly aggressive with begging though. He just sits there and waits for you to give him something, looking on longingly.

Pablo has his couch.
Here come the cloudsHere come the cloudsHere come the clouds

It is cool seeing the clouds come rolling in. Of course these pics don't do it justice.
There are 3 couches in the common room of La Serrana and one of them, or at least half of it belongs to Pablo after 7PM. When people gather to watch movies at night if his couch is taken he will grab an open space on another couch. But when every seat is taken well then hilarity ensues.

You watch Pablo enter the room and see him looking around at his space or for any open space. When he sees that every seat is filled he walks over to his couch and put his head up on a cushion and then slowly work a paw up. The next thing you know Pablo has squeezed his way up on the couch. Now if there were only 2 people on his couch he can actually fit on there in between them, although he will eventually nudge someone off so he can half the couch. If there are 3 people on the couch, well at least one or two of them will have to go. If you can manage to fight him off and maintain your space on a couch Pablo will just wait it out and eventually someone will get up
Here come the cloudsHere come the cloudsHere come the clouds

Salento is in the coffee region of Colombia at a fairly high altitude, right at a low cloud level.
and there ain't no saving places if he is around.

Anyways after almost 5 weeks in Salento I had to drag myself away. Since I have been here before it wasn't anything new to me but very enjoyable. Anyways I feel that my adventure officially starts now.




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

View thru my lens View thru my lens
View thru my lens

This is what I see when I am taking actual photographs. With film. The camera is a Holga, purple of course.
Lamont chillin at the Salento officeLamont chillin at the Salento office
Lamont chillin at the Salento office

Had to show a close up of the pecs and abs.
View from my officeView from my office
View from my office

This was my view. Everyday. For over a month. Rockin the Vibram FiveFingers.
View from my officeView from my office
View from my office

This was my view. Everyday. For over a month. Oh hell 2 the yeah, I'm rockin 2 different pairs of the Vibrams.
Pablo being fedPablo being fed
Pablo being fed

Here is Pablo taking a bite of pizza...
Pablo being fedPablo being fed
Pablo being fed

...that's right he just took A bite. Most dogs I know would have ripped the pizza from her mouth. Pablo is too cool for that.
Pablo in actionPablo in action
Pablo in action

Trying to squeeze out person #2.
Pablo in actionPablo in action
Pablo in action

Pablo after inching his way onto the couch forcing one person off.


Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0938s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb