Andean Music in Popayán


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Popayan
February 17th 2008
Published: February 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

As I still had not met Daniela (we had some problems communicating with each other, as my cell phone with the Movistar chip from Ecuador does not work here, and as she was in Tierradentro where there is no internet) and was still hanging around in Popayan, I decided to go to an Andean music concert at the Colliseo in Popayán. Not that I am particularly in favour of Andean music (actually wçquite sick of the bands in our Pedestrain zones at home playing El Condor Pasa), but it seemed like the appropriate thing to do in an Andean country for once, and nothing else had come up anyway. The concert was supposed to start at 7 p.m., so for once I was in time at 5 to 7. When I entered the big hall, there were about 20 people sitting in the first two rows, the rest was empty. I sat down in the first row and waited. After a short time a group started playing a song. I was quite pleased that the concert started quite in time. However, they stopped after that song, and then various people started practicings various types of instruments. Then some music was played from a tape. The an gagain some practising. Then again tape music. After the first half hour I started getting nervous. It continued. One hour. Again practising and tape. Every few minutes guys passing by trying to sell Aguardiente (Schnaps). Again practising. Again tape. At 9.10 p.m. the concert finally started. By then at least 50 people were in the hall. It started slow. But about an hour later, things really started to take off. There was a band from Otavalo which was really great, and soon everybody, including me, was on the dance floor. We danced funny shaman-like group dances, but it was really great fun, and I soon got into it. The locals seemed quite pleased that a Foreigner tried as well (I was the only one in the place).

Unfortunately I don´t have any pictures of the event, as I had not brought my camera along.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.753s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.7261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb