Jan 25 Medellin Bikers & Crosswalks


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
January 25th 2011
Published: January 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Just a basket on his bikeJust a basket on his bikeJust a basket on his bike

I didn't meet this fellow but a true adventurer.
Waking up to 19th day of perfect weather. If it feels a little hot you just move to the shade.

Breakfast was exciting as Margrit and Pius (& another fellow I didn't meet, with only a basket on his bike for his gear) were leaving. As far as going through dangerous territory I asked how they found out what was safe? They said simply the locals always let them know. They were an amazing Swiss couple. I couldn't get on their website this morning. The adventure for most starts on arriving in Medellin, for Margrit and Pius it starts when they leave.

Met several people today and will have a coffee tomorrow with Diana, who I haven't met, to practice Spanish and make a new friend I hope.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Setting out an emotional time for all.Setting out an emotional time for all.
Setting out an emotional time for all.

Swiss couple Pius and Margrit arrived a a few days ago from Brazil.
The kichen in Palm TreeThe kichen in Palm Tree
The kichen in Palm Tree

The kitchens crazy during peak times.
Pius & Margrit made friends fastPius & Margrit made friends fast
Pius & Margrit made friends fast

Everyone excited for them as they set out on the last year of 2.5 years around the world. They are going in the direction of Africa.
Keeping an eye to each otherKeeping an eye to each other
Keeping an eye to each other

Margrit in response to a question said: After 40 years we know how to take care of each other.
Princesa Met Her on Couch SurfingPrincesa Met Her on Couch Surfing
Princesa Met Her on Couch Surfing

She is just finishing 7 years of computer science, very dificult life, no dad ever, she started work at 5 years old selling pastry and what not. She is on CS for meeting for language practice.
Met Gloria Crossing The StreetMet Gloria Crossing The Street
Met Gloria Crossing The Street

Typical Colombian meeting. We were on the daily adventure of crossing the street so I commented on it. Next thing you know we are having a coffee together.
Gloria Calling Her AmigaGloria Calling Her Amiga
Gloria Calling Her Amiga

Gloria has a friend she thought would be good for me to practice Spanish with.
Larry from South AfricaLarry from South Africa
Larry from South Africa

English teacher in Colombia 3 years just moved to Medellin. I am trying to learn Spanish in unstructured conversation, Larry says I need some structure to be more successful.


26th January 2011

Today's entry
O.K. William, today's entry is dated for tomorrow so I guess you can have tomorrow off...hahaha Brigitte and Lynn were here for lunch today, amidst the basement carpet guys' noise and smells, and with no hot water (I'm trying to deal with it!). I want to be on holidays. I think that instructor is right about needing some structure so you can actually see improvement. But then I like the reading and learning grammar, etc. and do better at it than speaking/listening. Enjoy the nice weather and tell me more stories!
26th January 2011

Larry might be right
TItle of post is Jan 26th and I'm able to get my comment in on the 25th. Didn't realize they moved the international dateline when I wasn't looking. Anyhow, I think structured instruction combined with unstructured conversation is the way that I would learn best, but everyone has their own style. The problem is that without the structure, you can keep making the same mistakes without realizing why. The structure helps you understand the proper tense/mood/whatever so that you are able to then use the rules to create your own sentence structure without just learning it from rote.
26th January 2011

Don and Catica I agree.
I guess a good combination of lots of reading for vocab, movies with subtitles, practicing one verb tense at a time with a native speaker. Maybe even recording a conversation (with street vendor for example)and the reviewing it to know what I didn't understand and why he didnt understand me. It becomes like school then and I really need someone who is very serious about language learning.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb