Jan 27 Freedom has a price. People have answers.


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
January 27th 2011
Published: January 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

 Downpour at my tennis club.  Downpour at my tennis club. Downpour at my tennis club.

You can play on this type of clay (pulverized brick) in wetter conditions than hard-court. People didnt come off until getting drenched.

Don't forget to:
Click on the photos to enlarge them.
Subscribe
Leave a comment or suggestion.



On the way home noticed a faster than usual, off road style, motorcyle hitting maybe 70 MPH as he shifted in to 4th and passed 2 armed cops with motorcycles standing by the road pulling over people for the usual checks for weapons, cash, drugs,etc.

The one cop laughed and said something like Shhhooooosssh with a quick hand movement. So that confirmed to me the speed limit is like the German autobahn.

In many ways the freedom the people have here feels good. Cross-walks mean nothing. I asked a guy why they have crosswalks and was told for crossing the street, then he agreed with me that the cars dont stop for anyone anyway. The biggest vehicle has the right of way.

The price for freedom results in many young people in wheelchairs around town and on crutches of course.
I asked my amigo, Filipe at the small sports bar, If he liked riding his moto in the city. He smiled and said with enthusiasm, in Spanish, Adrenalina!!

Heavy rain yesterday. Might have to start carrying a
Downpour close to an hour.Downpour close to an hour.Downpour close to an hour.

Courts were dry in about an hour. A little help from this fellow but the other courts were used also.
poncho, you never know when they will strike. Even to get to a taxi from the club a block... and thats time to get really really wet.

Huddled in shelter/ watched Nadal lose to Ferrer. Took a shower, saw Roger having nice looking lunch, $7,000 I think ($4). Delicious/cheap at a tennis club. He invited me to join him.

Great day today. 1st a lesson with Jovanny spelled with a Y sounds like J. I had new string and a more extreme western (almost Nadal style) grip. The previous lesson, something was wrong I could barely hit the ball back, I felt so weak or maybe bad timing. I was so relieved today in the lesson. Power was back, new string makes a huge difference and the grip was working. We had a good session. Then a guy came on the court introduced himself as Carlos and we set up a game for after the lesson.

Carlos gave me a tennis game and was really helpful with my Spanish. Even my pronunciation which few seem to want to even interpret. For example a simple word like Treinta (30) as in tennis "30-0". I was missing the strong
Lunch under shelter at the ClubLunch under shelter at the ClubLunch under shelter at the Club

Lunch with Roger (not Federer he clarifies). We will play 2nd time tomorrow after a lesson Yovanny will give me & Carlos who gave me a game and a Spanish lesson today.
accent on the I (ee sound) and he stressed I had to change my pronunciation. Same with Cuarenta I was missing pronoucing the "U". A good reminder why people often don't understand me.

The best things are happening when I meet more people. They offer help and answers I wasn't even looking for.





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Filipe My Little Sports (tenis) BarFilipe My Little Sports (tenis) Bar
Filipe My Little Sports (tenis) Bar

He likes my glasses. I asked if he likes riding his motorcycle in the Medellin, his eyes lite and he says: Arenalina!!!
Inside my billiardes hauntInside my billiardes haunt
Inside my billiardes haunt

These buys have to hit three rails before hitting the second ball with the cue ball.
Tennis lesson at the club.Tennis lesson at the club.
Tennis lesson at the club.

Racket strung - $13 (Nadal's string). It worked great and I am sweating from a hard 45 min. with Yovanny.
Bandeja Paisa at my econo cafeBandeja Paisa at my econo cafe
Bandeja Paisa at my econo cafe

Huge. For two - $5 includes soup and mango juice. (J)Yovanni's 2 kids G-8 & B-12, play a high level. His boy is #1 in Colombia and high in S. America.
Estadios Sign Promoting HealthEstadios Sign Promoting Health
Estadios Sign Promoting Health

These are the best places for sports in S. America. Have fun, be careful. Medellin works with love. From the local gov't. Estadios=tennis club/karate /large pool/ ping-pong/ billiards/ aerobics/outdoor weights/etc.


28th January 2011
Bandeja Paisa at my econo cafe

Food glorious food
I don't think I could do justice to that bandeja paisa without someone to help out! Glad tennis is going well for you. As for the rain, well it is a La Nina year for most countries. Going anywhere else or staying in Medellin the whole trip? Had tea at Brigitte's this afternoon while she copied some of my spanish music cds. You should add Aida to your blog list as Barry and I were telling her about it in class and she said she only got the first one.
28th January 2011

Aida & maybe others? I will invite everyone again.
Thanks Catica (Cathy from my Spanish class). Maybe people don't know that to get a second email notice of a new blog entry ... they have to click "subscribe". I would love to bring the Spanish class here. Such friendly people and great place to learn more Spanish.

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb