Drama's in Bogota


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
February 6th 2007
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

With only one day in Bogotá there wasn't much time for sight seeing but after meeting a few really cool peeps I decided that there wasn't anything else to do other than commiserate my last day in Columbia but celebrate the time that I’d had. However even though I was only there for one day it never made it uneventful.

After traipsing around the streets trying to find a decent bar open in down Bogotá (It’s the capital city and I wouldn't have it that nothing was on) we found the pub at the end of our road open and I encouraged a guy called Dennis who had been on a recent bender to drink blue stuff cocktails with me. When we decide to venture home at 3ish we had some random homeless guy pestering us for money, after walking a block I realised that the Spanish he was muttering was quite aggressive and then noticed the rusty screwdriver poking out of his jacket - He was only trying to mug us and I hadn't even noticed. Thankfully Dennis handled it all and sent him off with some shrapnel and a few ciggies leaving me unscathed, camera in tact (I hadn't even took any photo's) and money still well in my pocket. I was later told that even Columbians don’t walk around at that time in down Bogotá and that there had been a recent bout of travelers getting robbed. Thankfully all turned out well thanks to my fluent Spanish speaking friend.


Advertisement



29th March 2007

???
I can't believe you have actually been to Colombia, but you can't actually spell the country's name. Didn't you see it written on signs at the airport or anything?
29th March 2007

Not Noticing Nat
Oh reminds me of a story back home lol ... something's a rye your that drunk you become not noticing Nat ... how frustrating for the mugga!!!!!!!!!!! Gets you out of scarpe tho spose pmsl!
29th March 2007

Get your facts right
Don´t know who you are Stevo but I know how to spell. That is how they spell Columbia in South America........so please check your facts before you make yourself look foolish again!
30th March 2007

spelling!!
OMG!!! Where in South America do they spell it like that? It's only in your head!!! Trust me.
31st March 2007

Spelling!!!!
OMG!!! - Ivan don't know who you are either but if you look at any guide book or google Columbia you will see that I am right......Evan the travel blog site that you are using spell it COLOMBIA. So any other random who wants to leave a comment about my spelling, please do not bother it is getting boring now. Thankyou
31st March 2007

Obliviouis Annie
Well you definitely needed your NAT SAV switched on for that journey home babe..............Whilst your living the dream over there we've got people arguing over here about how you spell KULUMBIA.......I don't know what all the fuss is about...........Hope your getting ready for Lisa's visit very soon......make sure she gets on the plane back home and make sure you both have your watches synchronised. You both have a great week together next week!!!!!!!
19th April 2007

Spelling
I can't tell how this started, but i am sorry to tell you that Columbia is incorrect. I am from Argentina, have traveled to Colombia and other countries in Latin America. Whenever you see Columbia referring to the country it is being misspelled. Some have adopted Columbia because they don't know it is wrong. Haven't you notice, for example, how in Colombia they write pull "hale"? That is definitely wrong. The "h" in Spanish is mute and the correct spelling for it is "jale".
19th March 2008

Spelling? Who cares!!
How come I am only getting all these blogs now?? and who cares about the spelling.. get a life Stevo..Ivan.. etc... Cuzco, Cusco was the same, had about 3 different spelling for the same place.. everywhere..... Nath.. cant believe u have no pics, i never made it to you know.. that place.. as I thought us Irish would have a hard time getting in, apparently though it's changed and not too hard, these days. xx
19th March 2008

Im dyslexic and the spelling seams fin to me
as above

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb