Bogota


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
December 25th 2006
Published: December 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am writing this entry from Romania, I got back home 2 days ago after a long journey, but I still need to post some thoughts as I didn't have time to do it back in Bogota. I must say I fell in love with the city. It is warm,a bit breezy, a bit chilly at night, just perfect, I loved the old architecture and the modern buildings. Wondering the city with my dear friends made everything even more special. We didn't have much time for visiting, as we decided to go to Villa de Leyva, as you probably saw in my last entry, so we actually spent only 3 days in Bogota. What a city! Magnificent, amazing, I loved it, every single thing about Bogota is extraordinary! Culturally, I only got the chance to visit the Gold Museum which was absolutely gorgeous!

My last 2 months in Colombia were crazy, travelling a lot, partying a lot, going out a lot, making new friends every day, it is so quiet now back home, it is so peaceful, it feels like I have woken up from a long nice dream and everything back home is pretty much the same.

It really feels like that...now I have the pictures to remind me the places, the people, they are the tangible, concrete testimony of everything I have done and seen in Colombia.

Austria was not a very nice first contact with Europe as nobody was very willing to help and a cab which normally is 10 euros was now 15 euros, all in the name of Christmas time! Oh yeah, it is Christmas, try to make a good deed and lower the price!:P

Smiling must be damn forbidden in Vienna, it didn't feel good asking for directions, dragging the heaviest suitcases on earth and nobody giving me a hand 😞.. On the train from Vienna to Bucharest I met this German guy, - also a bit not very comfortable with himself 😊) (just a joke of mine and Caro's)- and told him: You should all go to Colombia -( obviously my dear German friends Fabian, Christian, Katha,Ina are excluded from my bitter comment :PP)- for at least 6 moths, that would make you unwind a bit and learn how to f***** smile for a change, smiling won't kill you .

A piece of advice for anybody reading
BogotaBogotaBogota

having lunch in a nice house-restaurant :)
my blog: guys try to make it to Colombia, live there for 6 months, try to deal with what you don't like, irresponsibility and lack of punctuality and crap like that and in 6 months' time you will go back to your country completely changed and with a whole new positive perspective: tomorrow will be bright even if there are - 20 degrees.

I will have a hard time readjusting to this cold distant European style. Sorry for generalizing, but in my defence, I've just arrived and have already bumped into this cold politeness and I hate the thought of not getting genuine happy smiles from people.

People, pack your bags and go to Colombia, go to Medellin, you will adore it, the enthusiasm, the happiness, the joy, trust me, you will not want to leave it!!

It is 00.32 am, Christmas night, I already unwrapped all my presents and gave all my presents, the Christmas Tree is decorated and everybody is a bit sleepy, I can't sleep, still jet-lagged, my metabolism is set on Colombian time, gonna wake up late again tomorrow ,that is if my mom won't wake me up for the family Christmas lunch 😊)).

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYBODY!! FELIZ NAVIDAD!! CRACIUN FERICIT!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

la reina la reina
la reina

the pic Caro took on the way from Villa De Leyva to Bogota


Tot: 0.493s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 76; dbt: 0.1555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb