Hello from a Small Shop in El Melon, Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Zapallar
July 13th 2007
Published: July 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hola!

After some big sites, now I am going to write about some smaller ones. For starters, I am writing from a tiny but interesting shop in El Melon, Chile (a small town where my Mom and Dad lived). They sell Coke, chips, crackers, and sweets. They also have an interesting pinball game and three computers with connections to the Internet. The walk here was even more interesting. It is very dark and kinda scary. Unfortunately, there are not too many stars because it´s too cloudy tonight. During our walk, we saw a drunk bloke and several wild dogs, both of which are common here. I even saw horses on an island in the middle of a small river.

It is freezing here at night (in fact, with temperatures below freezing and no central heating, some Chileans have died recently). Some summer vacation! To stay warm, I bought a new ski cap and some gloves, and I sleep with them on (along with my fleece and socks)!

Last night, we played alongside the same ocean that we have up in Oregon. My sister and I had a lot of fun playing on the beach, and we saw a beautiful sunset (pink and orange).

The mother of my Mom and Dad´s friend is a great cook. We´ve had an avocado salad, spaghetti with cream sauce, cazuela (a traditional chilean soup with meat, potatoes, corn, and rice), and picarones (a pumpkin donut made only when it rains...and it rained last night).

That´s all for now. I miss you guys a lot.

Max




Advertisement



14th July 2007

Different lens
Dear Max, Just think what a different lens you will be looking through when you return. I can't wait to talk with you! Love, Aunt C
14th July 2007

Hi Max and Isabel. I can't believe you are freezing cold when we are hot here. I went to a new camp this week with my friend Ian and we played every day after. I am very tired. We made cookies, we played games, we did a play. We got to eat cookies. We had lunch. We ate pudding mixed with crumbled up cookies and gummy worms and it was all mixed up but I only like it not mixed up. I'm surprised you guys are going to Chile for a month. A month sounds like a long time. It's uncommon to go to a place for a long time like a month. That sounds like a lot of planes. You guys go on planes a lot. You guys must have been very freezing, very freezing cold in Chile. I can't wait to see you when you get back. love noah
14th July 2007

Have Fun!!
(addison) I miss you too- Portland here is very very warm, rather than "chilly", get it!! No one is home!! except us and a few adults. I hope you guys have made new friends and are having fun. I can't wait until you get home. (kelly) Well, I think it's time to put Max and Isabel to real work. Rick Steves is certainly lacking in his programs, without the side commentary of two young travelers such are yourselves. My- to see the world through those eyes is priceless. I've truly waited and looked forward to your great descriptions of what you are experiencing. You think I'm kidding? No, I definitely think it would be possible. I'd like to hear more about what locals do for employment and if you will be visiting any schools. (addison) I would like to know what do you play with the other kids. I hope you are getting along with the other kids. I miss you SO MUCH!! It's very lonely here in Portland without any kids. You are very lucky that you get to see all those beautiful sights and going to Chile.
15th July 2007

9:29 in Morning
Hi Max,our family drove to the Mississippi streat fair Yesterday and met my cousin Jessie there. At my sister's friend's dad's wood shop he had A game like shofle board and I got the highest score. Hope you are having a good time. ,Haven
15th July 2007

hi
How are you doing? I'm doing good. Last week it was 105 degrees. It was so hot. I just went to Butte Creek Camp which is for cub scouts. It was so hot that when we were outside you felt like your head was going to catch on fire. I got to fire bow and arrows, ride horses, make a pouch, sleep in a tent which had wood floors and was full of disgusting bugs. A daddy long legs landed on my nose when I was in the tent and I accidentally killed a daddy long legs in my terror. This is how I killed it in my terror: Daddy long legs are attracted to light and I was holding a flashlight near my nose while reading a book because it was dark and the ddl landed on the book, aiming for the light and I was so freaked out that I dropped the book and it killed it and you could see the guts and blood. The blood was brown. We got some new wii games. One of the games is Mario Party 8. Oh, and our house is full of daddy long legs, FYI. Love, Henry
17th July 2007

hola max & isabel
Hi from Jake in Oregon. I hope you're having a fun time, and it sounds like you're having a fun time. We just got back from Utah where it was 104 degrees. We liked seeing your pictures! Please take more. I miss you and can't wait to hear more about your trip. (New Harry Potter comes out on Saturday Max!!... from cathy) See you soon! Be safe. - Jake
20th July 2007

Hello From Haven
Hi,Max I was wondering how many days till you are coming back? I miss you! I just got a new video game that is cool! It must be cold there. when you come back you will burn with the sun. Your friend,Haven (Hilary here) Hey Ingrid and John, What was the name of the old hotel you stayed in and liked in Chicago. Brian and I want to see if our family can stay there when we go back in August.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb