A Fabulous Easter Weekend


Advertisement
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So the long weekend....

A good number of people in our group travelled to a few places inside (and outside) Chile, but a bunch of us hung back. Me, Zach, and a few others spent thursday eating Yogen Fruz, hanging out at the mall, and chillin at the beach. We didnt do much friday... went out that night and just hung out during the day. However! Saturday we had an AMAZING BBQ. Mostly due the skills of Zach and the other guys we had killer ribs, hot dogs, hamburgers, sausages, and roasted corn. We also had it at the Viña del MAr Botanical gardens. What I saw of them was beautiful (I was mostly chatting or watching the grill). How cool is it that a bunch of people can have a bbq in the botanical gardens AND that they provide grills!?? Just as good as the food was MARCELO came to visit! He and his friends made the arduous (hardly haha) one hour bus ride from Santiago to Valparaiso for the day and decided to spend it with us! How weird is it that Marcelo and I live farther apart at home, he goes to school in Boston, than we do in Chile?? It was cool catching up and I just realized I have NO pictures of us on the momentous occasion. Oh well, guess we'll just have to hang out again. The weather was gorgeous and the day and night before Easter couldn't have been better.

Easter morning I wake up to Rino (my 7 year-old host brother) jumping up and down upstairs. Appearently while he was asleep the easter bunny came! The bunny found me too because I had a big bag chocolate with my name on it! All week Rino was counting down the days till the "Conejo de Pascua" came to our house. I was surprised that my family didn't go to mass... my host mom seems pretty religious but I guess not enough to wake up a 7-year-old on Easter morning.

So I have a full week of class this week and next week we have off!! Zach and I, and possibly some others, are heading to Buenos Aires! I can't wait for him to meet my host family and show him around the city!!

Random Chilean fact: instead of a sweet tooth fairy slipping in while you sleep and taking the teeth you've lost they have a RAT! A RAT comes in the night and goes under your pillow and takes you teeth... I dont think so. Although he leaves money too. (My host brother is mssing 4 teeth, hence this info.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Sail BoatSail Boat
Sail Boat

There were about 10 white sail boats on the water this day.
Peg-legged Pigeon!Peg-legged Pigeon!
Peg-legged Pigeon!

Look closely at the ones foot on the right... he has none!
Puppy!Puppy!
Puppy!

This dog had THE shortest legs ever! She actually looked like a stumpy version of Daisy! This is the entrance to the Botanical Gardens, by the way.


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb