If There Were Tumbleweeds


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Maitencillo
October 19th 2006
Published: November 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Last month I shook up my normal back and forth routine to Santiago and hopped on a bus heading north of Valparaiso to a beach town called Maitencillo. A clue that I knew next to nothing about what I was doing was in the fact that I had to keep referring to my guidebook to remember how to pronounce the name. Think, think, and keep repeating to self... Maitencillo, Maitencillo, until it comes naturally. A bit like my problem with the artichokes. The driver asked where I would like to be left in town. I asked for "the center" and started to feel a bit worried when we drove past a large number of beachside shops all boarded up tight as can be. Ah yes, October is not the high season. I was left at a corner and first sat and had a bit of chocolate so that I could plan my next move. There was no need to rush, no need to look cautiously around, as there was absolutely no one in site. I stepped into the corner market and asked after the location of any pensiones, hostales, hoteles, anything. The response was bleak. A distance up the road I should find a hotel.

I began walking and noticed only one other person on the sidewalk in front of me. If there were tumbleweeds in Maitencillo, they missed their cue to tumble across my path. Some background whistling would have completed the scene perfectly. Soon I caught up with the other person and after walking in synchronized step for a minute, finally said hello. Jose remained with me as I went first to the hotel (closed during the off season), then chatted with another woman about available cabanas, and finally found a place for the night. In many situations, there is a lot of inefficiency in matters Chilean. HOWEVER, this is a direct result of the willingness of a Chilean to drop whatever he or she is doing at the moment to assist someone else. In business, not such a great quality. In human relations, ideal. After he saw that I was settled for the night, Jose continued with his business for the day.

It required some hemming and hawing but I negotiated a reasonable rate for the night. It took me some time to convince the owner that I would not require satellite television and really wanted the simplest accommodation. I was moved into my cabana. The water was not functioning so a man came to jiggle the pipe and then all was settled. I went to the market to get some dinner and then headed to the beach to catch the sunset. The beach is much longer than the one in Vinya (written this way when the above the n symbol is missing on the U.S. keyboard) or Valparaiso, stretching for a long while with only a few dots of people. I watched a few men fishing and out in the distance I could see the surfers bobbing up and down with the waves. A very cute stray dog came over and was very perky when I opened the sack to have my dinner so I had to wait until she was napping and then quietly continued. When the sun went down and it began to get cooler I walked for a while and stopped to collect some shells for a necklace.

Back at my cabana the water was once again out of order so I was moved to another cabana. This one had satellite television! But, honestly, I was extremely entrenched in Isabel Allende's "Portrait in Sephia" so read rather than watched television. The cabana also had three bedrooms and a total of five beds! I felt a bit small in such a big, empty cabana. I chose the bottom bunk in one room and thought of my friend Meg and my most recent trip to Sixth Grade Outdoor Education (the last time I slept in a bunk bed).

In the morning I took a long run/walk along the beach and then relaxed on the steps of my new cabana. The view was amazing. I took another walk in the afternoon before leaving and captured the beautiful pictures of the spring flora. In a way, Maitencillo reminded me a bit of Santa Cruz, California, with its relaxed beach atmosphere. It was just what I needed to settle my jumpy spirit, a break from the crowds and noise of my other cities.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



10th November 2006

stroll on the playa
I know you moved down there for a working expericence, butfrom time to time it sounds like a nice way to spend time on a vacation. Of course, you were always better than me at making your weekends enjoyable! I'm on the tail end of two straight days of parent conferences. Always a good time. Don't lie, I know you miss it. Enjoy and make the most of every day.
13th November 2006

Nunca mais
Acho que nunca mais voltas para EUA. Tambem yo no volto mais... (desculpe - olvidei espanol, e pus portugues...) beijo bem grande.
13th November 2006

Sara, The flowers are just beautiful. Do you think you can bring some of them home??? I am sure they are greaniums in the picture titled Beach Town Cabin. Are you making the shell necklace, or is that going to be a project for us to work on when you get home?? All of the blogs are so interesting to read and see the pictures, even for someone who like me who is not fond of traveling. I am sure the social studies teachers would like me to share them so they could show the students some of the pictures. Take care and we will see you next week. Love and miss you, Nancy
23rd November 2006

You are an amazing woman, Sara. School's definitely not the same without you! Hope to see you when you come back to Denver! Keep up the wanderings--I'm glad you're so willing to share your adventure. Love ya!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb