Para Conocer Zapallar


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Zapallar
October 21st 2006
Published: November 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Many Chileans ask me why I moved to Chile, "para estudiar (to study), intercambio (an exchange), or solo para conocer (or only to know Chile)?" And my answer is that, para conocer, to know Chile. In order to continue my quest to know Chile, after spending the day in Maitencillo I went a bit further north to see the town of Zapallar. Zapallar is known for its historic mansions, a few of which are pictured in my blog. I walked a seaside path and enjoyed another day of solitude and studying on the rocks with the waves crashing around me. As the sun began to go down I watched a dolphin jump and dive along the shore. Very magical.

There are not many accommodations for backpackers in Zapallar so I was fortunate to have a nice room but very far from the beach. Later in the evening I shared a dinner of empanadas with Alberto from Spain and then met with two others from our pension for some dancing. Finally I had the chance to dance some salsa! I called it an early night at 1 AM and later heard the two Chileans returning to the pension between 3 and
Road Trip to Chile?  Road Trip to Chile?  Road Trip to Chile?

Surprised to see my Subaru when I took a look out the window of my room.
4. I woke to a serenade from the hallway. I have always wanted someone to write a song for me; I just did not realize it would be unintelligible and sung through my door at 3 in the morning. It was easier to be flattered knowing that my door was securely locked.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



16th November 2006

what gorgeous nature shots
Wow Sara, those nature shots, especially the flowers, are like a breath of fresh air right now. My family's hometown got 16 inches of snow last week. We don't have any, luckily, but the cloudy, bland weather is already giving me the blues. Thanks for sharing!!!
16th November 2006

Looks so beautiful, i wish I could be there to share in the joy and beauty. We miss you and can't wait for you to meet Brayden!
19th November 2006

Oh.
Brilliant Wildflowers always seem to cut the fog, or at least make it blush.
28th November 2006

You look happy
Hola Sarita, I love love love getting the update - especially 'cause I missed this past Sunday's unofficial Skype date...but I think by now you are back in Wisco??? I can't wait to hear more and to see you over the holidays... You look happy, though. I feel you are... Besote

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0954s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb