Presidental election


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region
January 18th 2010
Published: January 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I just thought this was very interesting, and thought I'd write a note because I guess that's what bloggers do! Yesterday was the election and I was just walking with some friends trying to find some food. Anyhow around 8:30, people started honking and waving flags etc. As the night progressed, so did the honking and chants and cheering. It's like how Vancouver would be if Canucks ever won a stanely cup! I guess the guy who won only did by 2% or 3%. I loved how the streets were full, traffic stopped due to the crowds just for an election. I was tempted to get a tshirt with the presidents name and join in! Mind you, my host family is quite against him, so that would have been interesting... Strolling in with a flag, confetti, and a pinera (his name) banner!
Anyhow just cool to see how important democracy is. I am pretty sure we take it for granted in Canada. Oh today, I went to the market and right beside me was some punks. The 2 started running and were tackled hard onto the cement. Right in the middle of the road. From what I could gather, the older guys that tackled the punks were under cover police. Kind of reasuring to have them around. Apparently chile is the most trustworthy police in Latin America. There seems to be a respect and trust for them. Maybe cause they ride horses and little green dirt bikes around!! Haha I got a picture with one. Not on my camera though. Salsa dancing is this week... We'll see if I go..yikes!!!!

Advertisement



19th January 2010

Po 9
seriously darci what is with you and the police... mark my words i know you will marry one. haha and when i give my speech at the wedding i will have plenty of stories from where the love for them began and where slim and d bag were born.
24th January 2010

Haha ok slim! I give you credit for the softening of my heart towards dogs and my love of the law :)

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0856s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb