Week 2. Yes, sorry, very boring title....


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region
January 17th 2010
Published: January 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sitting down and writing a blog slightly reminds me of writing an essay. I have no idea where to even begin. I should almost make an outline or something. Ooh wait, that is far too much organization and work! So lucky you, you get to read my ramblings!

First off, Spanish is still my arch nemisis. Ok I am not sure what that means, and probably I spelt it wrong, but it's just out to get me! I have decided that my next goal in life will be easy. Like go sky diving before I die. Learning another language is quite the struggle. It reminds me of the tower of babel (from the bible 😊. But besides having a hard time, I'm loving it too. I find it so interesting to hear different languages and they are all so unique!

I just returned from Valparaiso. It is a city on the ocean, and is a major harbor. Probably the coolest city I have ever seen! Every house is on a hill, and there is a law you can't build if it blocks someone's view. Cobble stone streets, bright houses, every building is unique and interesting. We took a elevator up the street because it is so steep. That thing is probably 100 years old. They have them over the city because walking up those hills is just painful (well I imagine it would be).

It's funny how the prices of certain things here is so different. For example the 1.5 hour bus ride there cost me about 5$. But if you want to buy lotion, it's cheaper in Canada. Or going to a pool...10$. I got suckered into going. I figure I can go lay on some grass anywhere. But I'm all about trying everything once.

On Wednesday night, I went to a concert. Well, when I say concert, I mean a band playing in a small room above a restuarant. I don't know the name of the music, but there was drums, guitars, trombones and noise makers. It was jam packed in there and so hot and sweaty. Oh it was suppose to start around 9 and I think the band maybe started at 11:30. Chilean time at it's finest. I was hesitant to get close and be into it at first, but after a while, I was just loving it!

Tomorrow is election day here. It's a big deal. I suppose it's a big deal anywhere but they are closing everything down tonight. Like the bars have to close at midnight rather than 5 am. Who wants a drunk person voting at 9 am?? And NO, I don't know about the bar closing at 5 am first hand!!

Oh and another interesting thing here is the stray dogs. I was at a cross walk and I kid you not, 8 dogs were running around my feet. I think if that would have been in canada, I would have fainted with fear (yes dogs scare me). But it's no big deal here!!! And these dogs look like someone's pet. And good breeds too! Huskys, golden retrievers, I saw one that looked like a boxer. And so far, they are all very nice, and haven't bitten me and I didn't get rabies!!!

I have one more week here. The house I'm staying at is really full. Myself, two other students ( they are at the university), and the grandmas 2 grandsons visiting from Spain. I am actually never bored and this is the first time in 2 weeks I have been alone for more than 5 minutes. Anyway, I'm going to try to post pictures once I find a computer.

Advertisement



19th January 2010

Nellie just read your blog and she was very glad to hear about all your new canine friends. she would also like to take some credit in that regard breaking you in over the past yr was some hard work. you were a tough sell. lets hope your foreign friends do their job and break you in a little more, who knows you might come back a dog person! yay!

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb