Unfortunate facts about Santiago


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
April 28th 2006
Published: April 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have to admit most people I have heard from seemed to have little exciting to say about Santiago. I was determined however to keep and open mind and I have to admit the area in which I am staying (Barrio Brasil) and nearby Barrio Concha y Toro certainly appeal to me with their crumbly bohemian architecture and great coffee. I took the metro into the city today however and it was a crazy, fast, loud and polluted experience and I hot-footed it back to Barrio Brasil after 1 hour.
Below are some observations I have made about Santiago in the last 24 hours:
1. It has some appeal but is definitely no Buenos Aires
2. The air pollution at this time of year is diabolical
3. There are stray dogs everywhere
4. There are many crazy people wandering the streets
5. There is an overwhelming smell of cat piss on many street corners and in every park

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb